About ABAG

Landset Bay Area

About ABAG

ABAG stands for the Association of Bay Area Governments. Our mission is to strengthen cooperation and collaboration across local governments to build healthier, stronger communities.

ABAG is part regional planning agency and part local government service provider. We accomplish our goals by providing planning services and cost-effective ABAG member services to local governments struggling with rising costs and diminishing incomes.

Combining Goals with MTC

ABAG shares many of the same planning goals and initiatives with the Metropolitan Transportation Commission, or MTC, and we are now working together. Get the history. 

The Bay Area Region

The Bay Area region encompasses Alameda, Contra Costa, Marin, Napa, San Francisco, San Mateo, Santa Clara, Solano and Sonoma counties.

Did You Know?

ABAG helps facilitate quite a few major projects around the Bay to protect our natural environments — both on and off the water.