SUMMARY MINUTES

ABAG Administrative Committee Meeting Friday, December 9, 2016 Bay Area Metro Center 375 Beale Street, Board Room San Francisco, California

1. CALL TO ORDER / ROLL CALL / CONFIRM QUORUM

ABAG President and Committee Chair Julie Pierce, Councilmember, City of Clayton, called the meeting of the Administrative Committee of the Association of Bay Area Governments to order at about 10:09 a.m.

The Committee met jointly with the Planning Committee of the Metropolitan Transportation Commission.

A quorum of the Committee was present.

Members Present

Councilmember Julie Pierce, City of Clayton Supervisor Dave Cortese, County of Santa Clara Mayor Pat Eklund, City of Novato Mayor Pradeep Gupta, City of South San Francisco Supervisor Scott Haggerty, County of Alameda Supervisor Mark Luce, County of Napa Vice Mayor Greg Scharff, City of Palo Alto

Members Absent

Mayor Bill Harrison, City of Fremont Supervisor Eric Mar, City and County of San Francisco Councilmember Raul Peralez, City of San Jose Supervisor Dave Pine, County of San Mateo (Alternate) Supervisor David Rabbitt, County of Sonoma

Staff Present

Brad Paul, ABAG Acting Executive Director Kenneth Moy, ABAG Legal Counsel Miriam Chion, ABAG Planning and Research Director

2. ABAG COMPENSATION ANNOUNCEMENT

Fred Castro, ABAG Clerk of the Board, made the compensation announcement.

3. APPROVAL OF ABAG ADMINISTRATIVE COMMITTEE SUMMARY MINUTES OF MEETING ON NOVEMBER 4, 2016

Chair Pierce recognized a motion by Scott Haggerty, Supervisor, County of Alameda, which was seconded by Pat Eklund, Councilmember, City of Novato, to approve the Administrative Committee summary minutes of the meeting on November 4, 2016.

The ayes were: Pierce, Cortese, Eklund, Gupta, Haggerty, Luce, Scharff.

The nays were: None.

The abstentions were: None.

The absences were: Harrison, Mar, Peralez, Pine (Alternate), Rabbitt.

The motion passed unanimously.

4. MTC PLANNING COMMITTEE CONSENT CALENDAR

A. MTC Planning Committee Approval of Minutes of the November 4, 2016 Meeting

The MTC Planning Committee approved its minutes of the November 4, 2016 meeting.

5. PLAN BAY AREA 2040 UPDATE

A. Plan Bay Area 2040: Environmental Impact Report (EIR) Scoping Feedback and Alternatives

ABAG Administrative Committee ACTION / MTC Planning Committee APPROVAL

Ken Kirkey, MTC Planning Director, reported on Plan Bay Area 2040: Environmental Impact Report (EIR) Scoping Feedback and Alternatives, including a review of the purpose of CEQA; the Notice of Preparation and written and oral comments submitted; the identification of CEQA alternatives and development of the EIR; the alternatives recommended, i.e., No Project, Main Streets, Big Cities, and EEJ—Environment, Equity and Jobs (6 Wins), and the alternatives not recommended, i.e., Connected Neighborhoods, Smart Growth (TRANSDEF), Modified No Project (City of Livermore), and Plan Bay Area (2013 RTP/SCS).

Members discussed the following: the Environment, Equity and Jobs alternative and jobs-housing balance; fiscalization of land use and commercial and research and development growth; local jobs and housing; comparison of 2013 EEJ alternative.

Kirkey introduced Amy Higuera, Thomas Law Group, and Heidi Tschudin, EIR Consultant.

Amy Higuera, Thomas Law Group, commented on actual CEQA requirements regarding alternatives to be reviewed, and transparency and a public process.

The following individuals gave public comment: David Zisser, Public Advocates; Scott Lane; Matt Vander Sluice, Greenbelt Alliance.

The MTC Planning Committee took action on this item.

Members discussed the following: the Main Streets alternatives and investment in highways and roads.

Chair Pierce recognized an ABAG Administrative Committee motion by Pradeep Gupta, Vice Mayor, City of South San Francisco, which was seconded by Greg Scharff, Vice Mayor, City of Palo Alto, to recommend ABAG Executive Board approval of the selection of alternatives to be evaluated as part of the Plan Bay Area Environmental Impact Report, as described in the staff report.

Chair Pierce called for the vote on the substitute motion.

The ayes were: Pierce, Cortese, Eklund, Gupta, Haggerty, Luce, Scharff.

The nays were: None.

The abstentions were: None.

Summary Minutes

ABAG Administrative Committee Special Meeting Friday, December 9, 2016 Page 3

The absences were: Harrison, Mar, Peralez, Pine (Alternate), Rabbitt.

The motion passed unanimously.

6. PUBLIC COMMENT / OTHER BUSINESS

There following individual gave public comment on items not on the agenda: Scott Lane on San Mateo County county-wide transportation planning.

7. ADJOURNMENT / NEXT MEETING

Chair Pierce adjourned the meeting at about at 10:39 a.m.

The next joint meeting of the ABAG Administrative Committee and MTC Planning Committee will be announced.

Submitted:

/s/ Brad Paul, Acting Secretary-Treasurer

Date Submitted: January 25, 2017 Date Approved: March 24, 2017

For information, contact Fred Castro, Clerk of the Board, at (415) 820 7913 or FredC@abag.ca.gov.