# **SUMMARY MINUTES**

ABAG Administrative Committee Meeting Friday, October 14, 2016 Bay Area Metro Center 375 Beale Street, Board Room San Francisco, California

### 1. CALL TO ORDER / ROLL CALL / CONFIRM QUORUM

ABAG President and Committee Chair Julie Pierce, Councilmember, City of Clayton, called the meeting of the Administrative Committee of the Association of Bay Area Governments to order at about 10:08 a.m.

The Committee met jointly with the Planning Committee of the Metropolitan Transportation Commission.

A guorum of the Committee was present.

### **Members Present**

Councilmember Julie Pierce, City of Clayton Supervisor Dave Cortese, County of Santa Clara Mayor Pat Eklund, City of Novato Vice Mayor Pradeep Gupta, City of South San Francisco Supervisor Scott Haggerty, County of Alameda Supervisor Mark Luce, County of Napa Supervisor Eric Mar, City and County of San Francisco Vice Mayor Greg Scharff, City of Palo Alto

#### **Members Absent**

Supervisor Dave Pine, County of San Mateo (Alternate) Mayor Bill Harrison, City of Fremont Councilmember Raul Peralez, City of San Jose Supervisor David Rabbitt, County of Sonoma

### **Staff Present**

Kenneth Moy, ABAG Legal Counsel Miriam Chion, ABAG Planning and Research Director

# 2. ABAG COMPENSATION ANNOUNCEMENT

Fred Castro, Clerk of the Board, made the compensation announcement.

# 3. APPROVAL OF ABAG ADMINISTRATIVE COMMITTEE SUMMARY MINUTES OF MEETING ON JULY 8, 2016

President Pierce recognized a motion by Scott Haggerty, Supervisor, County of Alameda, which was seconded by Pat Eklund, Mayor, City of Novato, to approve the Administrative Committee summary minutes of September 9, 2016.

The ayes were: Pierce, Cortese, Eklund, Gupta, Haggerty, Luce, Scharff.

The nays were: None.

The abstentions were: None.

The absences were: Harrison, Mar, Peralez, Pine (Alternate), Rabbitt.

The motion passed unanimously.

### 4. MTC PLANNING COMMITTEE CONSENT CALENDAR

A. MTC Planning Committee Approval of Minutes of the September 9, 2016 Meetings
The MTC Planning Committee approved its minutes of the September 9, 2016 meetings.

### 5. PLAN BAY AREA 2040

### A. Update on Plan Bay Area 2040 Draft Preferred Scenario and Investment Strategy

Ken Kirkey, MTC Planning Director, and Miriam Chion, ABAG Planning and Research Director, presented an update on recent efforts with Plan Bay Area 2040, including outreach to local jurisdictions and feedback to-date.

Members discussed local jurisdiction General Plans, Priority Development Areas, local elections, OBAG funding, joint committee discussion of policy issues, UrbanSIm, economic check of Plan Bay Area, housing affordability, housing needed to solve housing problem, voter analysis, regional approach to transportation, regional approach to housing needed, Proposition 13 and funding revenues, inconsistency between UrbanSim and local jurisdiction General Plans, tools for building housing, need for detailed implementation plan, regional housing Marshall Plan, structural changes, social justice issues, workforce housing zoning, economic growth model, transportation investment, the term "preferred," urban growth boundaries, production and implementation.

The following individuals gave public comment: Pedro Galvao, Nonprofit Housing Association of Northern California; Stevi Dawson, East Bay Housing Organizations; Louise Auerhahn, Working Partnership; Carol Taylor, North Bay Organizing Project; Matt Vander Sluis, Greenbelt Alliance; David Zisser, Public Advocates; Laura Cohen, Railsto-Trails Conservancy; Tim Colen, San Francisco Housing Action Coalition; Peter Cohen, San Francisco Council of Community Housing Organizations; Scott Lane; Bob Allen, Urban Habitat; and Kirsten Spalding, San Mateo County Union Community.

# 6. PUBLIC COMMENT / OTHER BUSINESS

There was no public comment.

# 7. ADJOURNMENT / NEXT MEETING

Chair Pierce adjourned the meeting at about at 11:45 a.m.

The next joint meeting of the ABAG Administrative Committee and MTC Planning Committee will be announced.

Submitted:

/s/ Ezra Rapport, Secretary-Treasurer

Date Submitted: October 24, 2016 Date Approved: October 28, 2016

For information, contact Fred Castro, Clerk of the Board, at (415) 820 7913 or FredC@abag.ca.gov.