SUMMARY MINUTES

ABAG Administrative Committee Meeting Friday, July 8, 2016 Bay Area Metro Center 375 Beale Street, Board Room San Francisco, California

1. CALL TO ORDER / ROLL CALL / CONFIRM QUORUM

ABAG President and Committee Chair Julie Pierce, Councilmember, City of Clayton, called the meeting of the Administrative Committee of the Association of Bay Area Governments to order at about 11:21 a.m.

The Committee met jointly with the Planning Committee of the Metropolitan Transportation Commission.

A guorum of the Committee was present.

Members Present

Councilmember Julie Pierce, City of Clayton
Supervisor Dave Cortese, County of Santa Clara
Mayor Pat Eklund, City of Novato
Vice Mayor Pradeep Gupta, City of South San Francisco
Supervisor Scott Haggerty, County of Alameda
Mayor Bill Harrison, City of Fremont
Supervisor Mark Luce, County of Napa
Supervisor Eric Mar, City and County of San Francisco
Vice Mayor Greg Scharff, City of Palo Alto
Councilmember Raul Peralez, City of San Jose
Supervisor David Rabbitt, County of Sonoma

Members Absent

Supervisor Dave Pine, County of San Mateo (Alternate)

Staff Present

Ezra Rapport, ABAG Executive Director Brad Paul, ABAG Deputy Executive Director

2. ABAG COMPENSATION ANNOUNCEMENT

Fred Castro, Clerk of the Board, made the compensation announcement.

3. APPROVAL OF ABAG ADMINISTRATIVE COMMITTEE SUMMARY MINUTES OF MEETING ON MAY 27, 2016

President Pierce recognized a motion by Pat Eklund, Mayor, City of Novato, which was seconded by Scott Haggerty, Supervisor, County of Alameda, to approve the Administrative Committee summary minutes of May 27, 2016.

The ayes were: Cortese, Eklund, Gupta, Haggerty, Harrison, Luce, Mar, Peralez, Pierce, Rabbitt, Scharff.

The nays were: None.

The abstentions were: None.

The absences were: Pine (Alternate).

The motion passed unanimously.

4. PLAN BAY AREA 2040 SCENARIOS

A. PLAN BAY AREA 2040 SCENARIOS: WHAT WE'VE HEARD

Ellen Griffin, MTC, reported on the *Spring 2016 Engagement Report* for Plan Bay Area 2040.

Marisela Barbosa, Sela Learning, and Jill Ratner and students of the New Voices are Rising Summer Program, Rose Foundation, reported on summary of public comments from public meetings and online engagement.

Members discussed land use planning; ABAG and MTC responsibility regarding Plan Bay Area; local control; transportation and housing projects; displacement and affordable housing; redevelopment; performance criteria; By Right housing; housing building incentives; housing supply and demand; comments made by the students of the New Voices are Rising Summer Program.

B. PLAN BAY AREA 2040 SCENARIOS: PUBLIC COMMENT OPPORTUNITY

Members of the public were asked to offer comments on Plan Bay Area 2040 planning scenarios.

The following individuals gave public comment: Ken Bukowski; Val Menotti, BART; Matt Vander Sluis, Greenbelt Alliance; Mark Roest, SeaWave Battery; Mike Baratta; Scott Lane; Veda Flores; Roland Lebrun; Ora Hathaway; Jill Ratner, Rose Foundation; Jordan Bickett; Randi Kinman; Cathy Zhang, Sound of Hope Radio; Jane Kramer; and Fred Doolittle.

Members discussed Plan Bay Area public workshop and outreach in Marin County; jobs and household projections; affordable housing; Priority Development Area households; comments made by the students of the New Voices are Rising Summer Program.

5. PUBLIC COMMENT / OTHER BUSINESS

There was no public comment.

6. ADJOURNMENT / NEXT MEETING

The meeting adjourned at about 12:38 p.m.

The next joint meeting of the ABAG Administrative Committee and MTC Planning Committee on the ABAG/MTC Merger Study will be September 9, 2016.

<u>۰</u> .	س ما ،	-:11	ad.

Summary Minutes

ABAG Administrative Committee Special Meeting Friday, July 8, 2016

3

Date Submitted: July 12, 2016

Date Approved: September 9, 2016

For information, contact Fred Castro, Clerk of the Board, at (415) 820 7913 or

FredC@abag.ca.gov.