SUMMARY MINUTES

ABAG Administrative Committee Special Meeting Friday, June 9, 2017 Bay Area Metro Center 375 Beale Street, Board Room San Francisco, California

1. CALL TO ORDER / ROLL CALL / CONFIRM QUORUM

ABAG President and Committee Chair Julie Pierce, Councilmember, City of Clayton, called the meeting of the Administrative Committee of the Association of Bay Area Governments to order at about 11:31 a.m.

A quorum of the Committee was present at about 11:31 a.m.

The Committee met jointly with the Planning Committee of the Metropolitan Transportation Commission.

Members Present

Julie Pierce, Councilmember, City of Clayton—Chair Cindy Chavez, Supervisor, County of Santa Clara David Cortese, Supervisor, County of Santa Clara—*Ex officio* Pat Eklund, Councilmember, City of Novato Pradeep Gupta, Mayor, City of South San Francisco Scott Haggerty, Supervisor, County of Alameda Karen Mltchoff, Supervisor, County of Contra Costa David Rabbitt, Supervisor, County of Sonoma—Vice Chair

Members Absent

Raul Peralez, Councilmember, City of San Jose Greg Scharff, Mayor, City of Palo Alto

Staff Present

Kenneth Moy, ABAG Legal Counsel Duane Bay, ABAG Assistant Planning Director

2. ABAG COMPENSATION ANNOUNCEMENT

Fred Castro, Clerk of the Board, made the compensation announcement.

3. ABAG ADMINISTRATIVE COMMITTEE CONSENT CALENDAR

A. Approval of ABAG Administrative Committee Summary Minutes of Meeting on May 12, 2017

B. Approval of SFEP Annual Application to EPA National Estuary Program Funds

The Administrative Committee approved the annual ABAG/SFEP application for funds under the National Estuary Program and authorized the Executive Director or designee to enter into a new agreement with EPA on behalf of the San Francisco Estuary Partnership to provide technical, public involvement and administrative support in implementing the Estuary Blueprint developed under EPA's Comprehensive Conservation and Management Plan program. The agreement term will be October 1, 2017-September 30, 2018.

C. Ratification of Contract for Services with Ninyo and Moore

The Administrative Committee ratified the agreement with Ninyo and Moore and authorized the Executive Director, or designee, to enter into the agreement with Ninyo and Moore to provide environmental consulting services to conduct Phase I and Phase II Environmental Site Assessments for the East Bay Coalition Brownfields.

D. Adoption of Resolution No. 04-17 Authorizing Acceptance of U.S. EPA Community Wide Coalition Assessment Grant

The Administrative Committee adopted Resolution No. 04-17.

E. Adoption of Resolution No. 05-17 Approving the Application for Grant Funds for California Climate Investments Urban Greening Program

The Administrative Committee adopted Resolution No. 05-17.

F. Adoption of Resolution No. 06-17 Investment Policy

The Administrative Committee adopted Resolution No. 06-17.

Chair Pierce recognized a motion by Pat Eklund, Mayor, City of Novato, which was seconded by Karen Mitchoff, Supervisor, County of Contra Costa, to approve the Administrative Committee Consent Calendar, including Resolution No. 04-17, Resolution No. 05-17, and Resolution No. 06-17.

The ayes were: Pierce, Cortese, Eklund, Gupta, Haggerty, Mitchoff.

The nays were: None.

The abstentions were: None.

The absences were: Chavez, Peralez, Rabbitt, Scharff.

The motion passed.

4. MTC PLANNING COMMITTEE CONSENT CALENDAR

A. Approval of MTC Planning Committee Summary Minutes of Meeting on May 12, 2017

The MTC Planning Committee took action on this item.

5. MTC PLANNING COMMITTEE APPROVAL

A. MTC Resolution No. 4290—Regional Advance Mitigation Planning (RAMP) Program

Kenneth Kao, MTC, reported on an update on the RAMP Program efforts and proposed adoption of RAMP as the preferred mitigation strategy for the Bay Area.

The MTC Planning Committee took action on this item.

B. MTC Resolution No. 4295—Federal Performance Target-Setting Requirements

David Vautin and Shruti Hari, MTC, reported on an overview of the federal performance target-setting requirements in MAP-21 and the FAST Act and requested authority to set future federal short-range targets to comply with statutory deadlines.

The MTC Planning Committee took action on this item.

6. REPORT ON PLAN BAY AREA 2040

A. Draft Plan Bay Area 2040—Summary of Public Input

Ursula Volger, MTC, and Duane Bay, ABAG, reported on summary of comments from open houses, public hearings, and outreach to community-based organizations.

The following individuals gave public comment: Pedro Galvao, Non-Profit Housing Association of Northern California; David Zisser, Public Advocates; Erin; Carolyn Wong, East Oakland Collective; Ken Bukowski.

Members discussed public involvement, staff organization, action plan, and responses to comments; recognizing public workshops and open houses; water quality and supply; Committee for Sustainable and Affordable Accommodations recommendations; outreach, housing affordability, using transportation funds to incentivize housing, autonomous vehicles; defining affordability and subsidizing, and non-subsidy alternatives; local jurisdiction response to housing issues; resilience public concerns; approaches to development and financial incentives.

7. PUBLIC COMMENT / OTHER BUSINESS

There was no public comment.

8. MTC PLANNING COMMITTEE ADJOURNMENT

The MTC Planning Committee meeting adjourned at about 12:38 p.m.

9. ABAG ADMINISTRATIVE COMMITTEE—CLOSED SESSION

PUBLIC EMPLOYMENT

Title: Post Consolidation Legal Counsel

The ABAG Administrative Committee deferred this time to the next meeting.

10. ABAG ADMINISTRATIVE COMMITTEE—REPORT ON COMPENSATION OF POST CONSOLIDATION LEGAL COUNSEL

The ABAG Administrative Committee deferred this item to the next meeting.

11. ABAG ADMINISTRATIVE COMMITTEE ADJOURNMENT / NEXT MEETING

Chair Pierce adjourned the meeting at about at 12:38 p.m.

The next joint meeting of the ABAG Administrative Committee and MTC Planning Committee will be announced.

Submitted:

/s/ Brad Paul, Acting Secretary-Treasurer

Date Submitted: June 12, 2017

Date Approved: July 14, 2017

For information, contact Fred Castro, Clerk of the Board, at (415) 820 7913 or FredC@abag.ca.gov.