SUMMARY MINUTES

ABAG Administrative Committee Special Meeting Friday, May 27, 2016 Bay Area Metro Center 375 Beale Street, Board Room San Francisco, California

1. CALL TO ORDER / ROLL CALL / CONFIRM QUORUM

ABAG President and Committee Chair Julie Pierce, Councilmember, City of Clayton, called the special meeting of the Administrative Committee of the Association of Bay Area Governments to order at about 9:01 a.m.

The Committee met jointly with the Planning Committee of the Metropolitan Transportation Commission.

A quorum of the Committee was present.

Members Present

Councilmember Julie Pierce, City of Clayton Supervisor Dave Cortese, County of Santa Clara Mayor Pat Eklund, City of Novato Vice Mayor Pradeep Gupta, City of South San Francisco Supervisor Scott Haggerty, County of Alameda Mayor Bill Harrison, City of Fremont Supervisor Mark Luce, County of Napa Supervisor Eric Mar, City and County of San Francisco Vice Mayor Greg Scharff, City of Palo Alto

Members Absent

Councilmember Raul Peralez, City of San Jose Supervisor Dave Pine, County of San Mateo (Alternate) Supervisor David Rabbitt, County of Sonoma

Staff Present

Ezra Rapport, ABAG Executive Director Kenneth Moy, Legal Counsel Brad Paul, ABAG Deputy Executive Director

- 2. PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE
- 3. MTC COMPENSATION ANNOUNCEMENT

4. ABAG COMPENSATION ANNOUNCEMENT

Fred Castro, Clerk of the Board, made the compensation announcement.

5. MTC PLANNING COMMITTEE CONSENT CALENDAR

A. MTC Planning Committee Minutes of the April 22, 2016 Meeting

MTC Planning Committee approved its minutes of the April 22, 2016 meeting.

6. APPROVAL OF ABAG ADMINISTRATIVE COMMITTEE SUMMARY MINUTES OF MEETING ON APRIL 22, 2016 AND MEETING ON APRIL 29, 2016

President Pierce recognized a motion by Scott Haggerty, Supervisor, County of Alameda, which was seconded by Mark Luce, Supervisor, County of Napa, to approve the Administrative Committee summary minutes of April 22, 2016 and April 29, 2016.

The ayes were: Cortese, Eklund, Gupta, Haggerty, Harrison, Luce, Mar, Pierce, Scharff.

The nays were: None.

The abstentions were: None.

The absences were: Peralez, Pine (Alternate), Rabbitt.

The motion passed unanimously.

7. ABAG/MTC MERGER STUDY—OPTION 7 PROPOSED IMPLEMENTATION ACTION PLAN

Lynn Dantzker, Partner, and Dan Marks, Special Advisor, Management Partners, reported on the ABAG/MTC merger study Option 7 Proposed Implementation Action Plan.

Members thanked Management Partners for their work and discussed the proposed Option 7 Implementation Action Plan; interests of both agencies and their respective staff members; work program integration; Executive Board staff support; ABAG roles and responsibilities; contract for services; memorandum of understanding; employee representation and worker principles; a new governance structure; selection of next Executive Director; role of Council of Governments; General Assembly approval of budget and work plan; meeting schedule.

The following individuals gave public comment: Revan Tranter, ABAG Executive Director Emeritus; Matt Vander Sluis, Greenbelt Alliance; Ken Bukowski; Patricia Perry; Michael Brinton, MTC; Lee Huo, SEIU 1021.

President Pierce recognized a motion by Luce, which was seconded by Haggerty, to recommend Option 7 Proposed Implementation Action Plan for adoption by the ABAG Executive Board, and to draft and send a letter to the Assembly Select Committee on Bay Area Regional Planning informing them of the status of the ABAG MTC merger study and implementation action plan.

The ayes were: Cortese, Gupta, Haggerty, Harrison, Luce, Mar, Pierce, Scharff.

The nays were: Eklund.

The abstentions were: None.

The absences were: Peralez, Pine (Alternate), Rabbitt.

The motion passed.

8. PUBLIC COMMENT / OTHER BUSINESS

There was no public comment.

9. ADJOURNMENT / NEXT MEETING

The meeting adjourned at about 9:50 a.m.

The next joint meeting of the ABAG Administrative Committee and MTC Planning Committee on the ABAG/MTC Merger Study will be announced. Submitted:

/s/ Ezra Rapport, Secretary-Treasurer

Date Submitted: June 24, 2016 Date Approved: July 8, 2016

For information, contact Fred Castro, Clerk of the Board, at (415) 820 7913 or FredC@abag.ca.gov.