# **SUMMARY MINUTES**

ABAG Administrative Committee Special Meeting
Friday, May 12, 2017
Bay Area Metro Center
Yerba Buena Conference Room
375 Beale Street
San Francisco, California

#### 1. CALL TO ORDER / ROLL CALL / CONFIRM QUORUM

ABAG President and Committee Chair Julie Pierce, Councilmember, City of Clayton, called the meeting of the Administrative Committee of the Association of Bay Area Governments to order at about 11:02 a.m.

A quorum of the Committee was present at about 11:02 a.m.

The Committee met jointly with the Planning Committee of the Metropolitan Transportation Commission.

#### **Members Present**

Julie Pierce, Councilmember, City of Clayton—Chair Cindy Chayez, Supervisor, County of Santa Clara farr

Cindy Chavez, Supervisor, County of Santa Clara [arrived at about 11:26 a.m.]

David Cortese, Supervisor, County of Santa Clara—Ex officio [arrived at about 11:26 a.m.]

Pat Eklund, Councilmember, City of Novato

Pradeep Gupta, Mayor, City of South San Francisco

Scott Haggerty, Supervisor, County of Alameda

Raul Peralez, Councilmember, City of San Jose

Greg Scharff, Mayor, City of Palo Alto [arrived at about 10:01 a.m.]

#### **Members Absent**

Karen Mltchoff, Supervisor, County of Contra Costa David Rabbitt, Supervisor, County of Sonoma—Vice Chair

#### Staff Present

Brad Paul, ABAG Acting Executive Director Kenneth Moy, ABAG Legal Counsel Miriam Chion, ABAG Planning and Research Director

# 2. ABAG COMPENSATION ANNOUNCEMENT

Fred Castro, Clerk of the Board, made the compensation announcement.

The ABAG Administrative Committee next took up Item 4.A.

# 3. APPROVAL OF ABAG ADMINISTRATIVE COMMITTEE SUMMARY MINUTES OF MEETING ON APRIL 24, 2017

Chair Pierce recognized a motion by Greg Scharff, Mayor, City of Palo Alto, which was seconded by Pradeep Gupta, Mayor, City of South San Francisco, to approve the Administrative Committee summary minutes of the meeting on April 14, 2017.

The ayes were: Pierce, Chavez, Eklund, Gupta, Haggerty, Peralez, Scharff.

The nays were: None.

The abstentions were: None.

The absences were: Cortese, Mitchoff, Rabbitt.

The motion passed.

#### 4. MTC CONSENT CALENDAR

# A. Approval of MTC Planning Committee Summary Minutes of Meetings on April 14, 2017

The MTC Planning Committee approved its summary minutes of meetings on April 14, 2017.

# 5. REPORT ON PLAN BAY AREA 2040

# A. Public Hearing on the Draft Plan Bay Area 2040

The MTC Planning Committee and ABAG Administrative Committee conducted a public hearing to receive oral comments on the Draft Plan Bay Area 2040.

Ken Kirkey, MTC Planning Director, reported on the Draft Plan Bay Area 2040.

Two additional public hearings are scheduled for Tuesday, May 16, 2017 from 6 p.m. to 8 p.m. in San Jose and Thursday, May 18, 2017 from 6 p.m. to 8 p.m. in Vallejo (see PlanBayArea.org for complete details, including meeting locations).

The public hearing began at about 11:14 a.m.

The following individuals gave public comment: David Zisser, Public Advocates; Stevi Dawson, 6 WINS and East Bay Housing Organization; Matt Vander Sluis, Greenbelt Alliance; Pedro Galvao, Non-Profit Housing Association of Northern California; Jack Fleck, 350 Bay Area; Mark Roest, SeaWave Battery, Inc., Green Fleets Group, and Design Earth; Theresa Hardy, Sierra Club; and Peter Cohen, San Francisco Council of Community Housing Organizations.

The public hearing ended at about 11:36 a.m.

Members discussed the public hearing schedule; data source used for income; housing action plan and Committee for Sustainable and Affordable Accommodations; regional government collaboration with local government and private sector; housing trust fund; general plan and housing element.

# B. Public Hearing on the Draft Environmental Impact Report for Plan Bay Area 2040

The MTC Planning Committee and ABAG Administrative Committee conducted a public hearing to receive oral comments on the Draft Environmental Impact Report for Plan Bay Area 2040

Ken Kirkey, MTC Planning Director, and Heidi Tschudin, Tschudin Consulting Group, reported on the Draft Environmental Impact Report for Plan Bay Area 2040.

Two additional public hearings are scheduled for Tuesday, May 16, 2017 from 6 p.m. to 8 p.m. in San Jose and Thursday, May 18, 2017 from 6 p.m. to 8 p.m. in Vallejo (see PlanBayArea.org for complete details, including meeting locations).

The public hearing began at about 12:12 p.m.

The following individuals gave public comment: Bill Martin; Matt Vander Sluis, Greenbelt Alliance; and David Zisser, Public Advocates.

The public hearing ended at about 12:19 p.m.

Members discussed distribution of Priority Development Areas and Transit Priority Areas by County; buildable acreage; high density; and water authority and use.

### 6. PUBLIC COMMENT / OTHER BUSINESS

The following individuals gave public comment on items not on the agenda; Edward Mason; Ken Bukowski.

# 7. MTC PLANNING COMMITTEE ADJOURNMENT

The MTC Planning Committee meeting adjourned at about 12:22 p.m.

The ABAG Administrative Committee entered into Closed Session at about 12:30 p.m.

# 8. ABAG ADMINISTRATIVE COMMITTEE CLOSED SESSION

PUBLIC EMPLOYEE RELEASE

#### 9. ABAG ADMINISTRATIVE COMMITTEE CLOSED SESSION

### CONFERENCE WITH LABOR NEGOTIATORS

Agency designated representatives: Brad Paul, Acting Executive Director; Kenneth Moy, Legal Counsel; Courtney Ruby, Finance and Administrative Services Director; Marti Paschal, Interim Assistant Director of Administrative Services

Employee organization: SEIU Local 1021

The ABAG Administrative Committee returned to Open Session at about 12:47 p.m.

Chair Pierce reported that direction was given to staff and that there was no other reportable action out of Closed Session.

# 10. ABAG ADMINISTRATIVE COMMITTEE ADJOURNMENT / NEXT MEETING

Chair Pierce adjourned the meeting at about at 12:47 p.m.

The next joint meeting of the ABAG Administrative Committee and MTC Planning Committee will be announced.

Submitted:

/s/ Brad Paul, Acting Secretary-Treasurer

Date Submitted: June 6, 2017 Date Approved: June 9, 2017

Summary Minutes
ABAG Administrative Committee Special Meeting
Friday, May 12, 2017
Page 4

For information, contact Fred Castro, Clerk of the Board, at (415) 820 7913 or FredC@abag.ca.gov.