SUMMARY MINUTES

ABAG Administrative Committee Special Meeting
Friday, April 14, 2017
Bay Area Metro Center
Yerba Buena Conference Room
375 Beale Street
San Francisco, California

1. CALL TO ORDER / ROLL CALL / CONFIRM QUORUM

ABAG President and Committee Chair Julie Pierce, Councilmember, City of Clayton convened the meeting of the Administrative Committee of the Association of Bay Area Governments at about 11:15 a.m.

A quorum of the Committee was present at about 11:26 a.m.

The meeting was called to order at about 11:26 a.m.

Karen MItchoff, Supervisor, County of Contra Costa

The Committee met jointly with the Planning Committee of the Metropolitan Transportation Commission.

Members Present

Julie Pierce, Councilmember, City of Clayton—Chair
Cindy Chavez, Supervisor, County of Santa Clara [arrived at about 11:26 a.m.]
David Cortese, Supervisor, County of Santa Clara—Ex officio [arrived at about 11:26 a.m.]
Pat Eklund, Councilmember, City of Novato
Pradeep Gupta, Mayor, City of South San Francisco
Scott Haggerty, Supervisor, County of Alameda

Members Absent

Greg Scharff, Mayor, City of Palo Alto [arrived at about 10:01 a.m.] Raul Peralez, Councilmember, City of San Jose David Rabbitt, Supervisor, County of Sonoma—Vice Chair

Staff Present

Brad Paul, ABAG Acting Executive Director Kenneth Moy, ABAG Legal Counsel Courtney Ruby, ABAG Finance and Administrative Services Director Miriam Chion, ABAG Planning and Research Director

2. ABAG COMPENSATION ANNOUNCEMENT

Wally Charles, ABAG Administrative Specialist, made the compensation announcement.

The ABAG Administrative Committee next took up Item 4.A.

3. APPROVAL OF ABAG ADMINISTRATIVE COMMITTEE SUMMARY MINUTES OF MEETING ON MARCH 24, 2017

Chair Pierce recognized a motion by Pat Eklund, Councilmember, City of Novato, which was seconded by Karen Mitchoff, Supervisor, County of Contra Costa, to approve the Administrative Committee summary minutes of the meeting on March 24, 2017.

The ayes were: Pierce, Chavez, Cortese, Eklund, Gupta, Haggerty, Mitchoff.

The nays were: None.

The abstentions were: None.

The absences were: Scharff, Peralez, Rabbitt.

The motion passed unanimously.

The ABAG Administrative Committee continued with Item 4.A.

4. REPORT ON PLAN BAY AREA 2040

A. Report on Plan Bay Area 2040—Document, Action Plan and Public Outreach

Ken Kirkey, MTC Planning Director, reported on the release of the draft Plan Bay Area 2040, draft Environmental Impact Report, and draft Action Plan, including focus growth in the core of the region, strategies to encourage shifts in job locations, transportation investments, environmental goals and region's affordability issues. He gave an overview of the Plan Document, draft Action Plan, and outreach schedule. Staff will finalize the draft Plan and draft EIR for MTC Commission and ABAG Executive Board consideration for adoption in July.

Members discussed the composition of the Committee for Affordable and Sustainable Accommodation (CASA).

The ABAG Administrative Committee next took up Item 3.

Members discussed a roadmap that describes how the pieces of the draft Plan Document relate to each other; identifying city representatives who provide comments; assumptions assigning higher developments allowed in Priority Development Areas; implementing CASA recommendations in coordination with ABAG Regional Planning Committee; recognizing ABAG staff working on regional forecast; differences in regional forecast projections for cities.

The following individuals gave public comment: Nick Josefowitz; David Zisser, Public Advocates; Matt Vander Sluis, Greenbelt Alliance; Jerry Grace; Tony Fisher, Coalition for Clean Air; Ken Bukowski.

Members discussed the opportunity for MTC Commissioners and ABAG Executive Board to talk about issues that jointly affect Plan Bay Area; and the ABAG compensation announcement.

Adrienne Weil, MTC General Counsel, commented on the MTC compensation announcement.

Kenneth Moy, ABAG Legal Counsel, commented on the ABAG compensation announcement.

5. PUBLIC COMMENT / OTHER BUSINESS

There was no public comment on items not on the agenda.

6. ADJOURNMENT / NEXT MEETING

Chair Pierce adjourned the meeting at about at 12:05 p.m.

Summary Minutes

ABAG Administrative Committee Special Meeting Friday, April 14, 2017 Page 3

The next joint meeting of the ABAG Administrative Committee and MTC Planning Committee will be announced.

Submitted:

/s/ Brad Paul, Acting Secretary-Treasurer

Date Submitted: May 2, 2017 Date Approved: May 12, 2017

For information, contact Fred Castro, Clerk of the Board, at (415) 820 7913 or FredC@abag.ca.gov.