# SUMMARY MINUTES

ABAG Legislation Committee Meeting Thursday, July 19, 2018 Bay Area Metro Center 375 Beale Street, Board Room San Francisco, California

# 1. CALL TO ORDER / ROLL CALL / CONFIRM QUORUM

ABAG Legislation Committee Chair Scott Haggerty, Supervisor, County of Alameda, called the meeting to order at about 4:05 p.m.

Chair Haggerty directed the Clerk of the Board to conduct the roll call.

A quorum of the Committee was present at about 4:04 p.m.

#### **Members Present**

Scott Haggerty, Supervisor, County of Alameda—*Chair* Dave Cortese, Supervisor, County of Santa Clara Pat Eklund, Councilmember, City of Novato Dave Hudson, Councilmember, City of San Ramon Karen Mitchoff, Supervisor, County of Contra Costa Julie Pierce, Councilmember, City of Clayton—*Vice Chair* David Rabbitt, Supervisor, County of Sonoma

#### Members Abent

Belia Ramos, Supervisor, County of Napa Greg Scharff, Councilmember, City of Palo Alto

# **Staff Present**

Steve Heminger, MTC Executive Director Adrienne Weil, MTC General Counsel Alix Bockelman, MTC Deputy Executive Director, Policy Andrew Fremier, MTC Deputy Executive Director, Operations Brian Mayhew, MTC Chief Financial Officer Randy Rentschler, MTC Legislation and Public Affairs Director Georgia Gann Dohrmann, MTC Government Relations Associate Manager Dana Brechwald, MTC Associate Planner

# 2. ABAG COMPENSATION ANNOUCEMENT

Fred Castro, ABAG Clerk of the Board, gave the ABAG compensation announcement.

# 3. PUBLIC COMMENT

There was no public comment.

# 4. COMMITTEE ANNOUNCEMENT

There was no committee member announcements.

# 5. CONSENT CALENDAR

# A. APPROVAL OF ABAG LEGISLATION COMMITTEE SUMMARY MINUTES OF MEETING ON MAY 17, 2018

ABAG Legislation Committee Meeting Thursday, July 19, 2018 Page 2

# **B. REPORT ON LEGISLATIVE HISTORY**

Chair Haggerty recognized a motion by David Rabbitt, Supervisor, County of Solano, which was seconded by Julie Pierce, Councilmember, City of Clayton, to approve the Consent Calendar.

There was no public comment.

There was no Committee discussion.

Chair Haggerty called for the vote.

The aye votes were: Cortese, Eklund, Haggerty, Pierce, Rabbitt.

The nay votes were: None.

The abstentions were: None.

Absent were: Hudson, Mitchoff, Ramos, Scharff.

The motion passed unanimously.

# 6. REPORT ON STATE LEGISLATION

# A. AB 1857 (Nazarian): Building Codes: Earthquake Safety – Support

Dana Brechwald, MTC Associate Planner, gave the staff report.

Chair Haggerty recognized a motion by Pat Eklund, Councilmember, City of Novato, which was seconded by Rabbitt, to recommend Executive Board support of AB 1857.

Members discussed existing code and new construction cost.

Members noted the watch position taken by the League of California Cities and California State Association of Counties.

There was no public comment.

Chair Haggerty called for the vote.

The aye votes were: Cortese, Eklund, Haggerty, Hudson, Mitchoff, Pierce, Rabbitt.

The nay votes were: None.

The abstentions were: None.

Absent were: Ramos, Scharff.

The motion passed unanimously.

# B. AB 2681 (Nazarian): Inventory of Vulnerable Buildings – Support

Dana Brechwald, MTC Associate Planner, gave the staff report.

Members discussed the League of California Cities' basis for opposition; unfunded state mandates; real estate and rental disclosures; support from other Councils of Governments; unreinforced masonry retrofit cost.

Chair Haggerty recognized a motion by Rabbitt, which was seconded by Karen Mitchoff, Supervisor, County of Contra Costa, to recommend Executive Board support of AB 2681.

There was no public comment.

#### Summary Minutes

ABAG Legislation Committee Meeting Thursday, July 19, 2018 Page 3

Chair Haggerty called for the vote.

The aye votes were: Cortese, Haggerty, Hudson, Mitchoff, Pierce, Rabbitt.

The nay votes were: Eklund.

The abstentions were: None.

Absent were: Ramos, Scharff.

The motion passed.

# C. Propositions 1 and 2: Affordable Housing and Homelessness Bonds – Support

Georgia Gann Dohrmann, MTC Government Relations Associate Manager, gave the staff report.

Members discussed Proposition 2 related lawsuit.

Chair Haggerty recognized a motion by Mitchoff, which was seconded by Eklund, to recommend Executive Board support of Propositions 1 and 2.

There was no public comment.

Chair Haggerty called for the vote.

The aye votes were: Cortese, Eklund, Haggerty, Hudson, Mitchoff, Pierce, Rabbitt.

The nay votes were: None.

The abstentions were: None.

Absent were: Ramos, Scharff.

The motion passed unanimously.

#### D. Proposition 6: Senate Bill 1 Repeal Initiative – Oppose

Randy Rentschler, MTC Legislation and Public Affairs Director, gave the staff report.

Members discussed education on Proposition 6 and specific projects at risk.

Chair Haggerty recognized a motion by Pierce, which was seconded by Dave Hudson, Councilmember, City of San Ramon, to recommend Executive Board opposition of Proposition 6.

There was no public comment.

Chair Haggerty called for the vote.

The aye votes were: Cortese, Eklund, Haggerty, Hudson, Mitchoff, Pierce, Rabbitt.

The nay votes were: None.

The abstentions were: None.

Absent were: Ramos, Scharff.

The motion passed unanimously.

# 7. REPORT ON FISCAL YEAR 2018-19 STATE BUDGET

Georgia Gann Dohrmann, MTC Government Relations Associate Manager, gave the staff report, including a report on a cap and trade expenditure plan.

There was no member discussion.

# 8. REPORT ON MTC/ABAG LEGISLATIVE WORKSHOP

Georgia Gann Dohrmann, MTC Government Relations Associate Manager, gave the staff report.

Members discussed how to engage members in legislative advocacy.

# 9. ADJOURNMENT / NEXT MEETING

Chair Haggerty adjourned the meeting at about 4:37 p.m.

The next regular meeting of the ABAG Legislation Committee will be on September 20, 2018.

Submitted:

Fred Castro, Clerk of the Board

Date Submitted: August 8, 2018 Date Approved: September 20, 2018