# **SUMMARY MINUTES**

ABAG Legislation Committee Meeting Thursday, May 17, 2018 Bay Area Metro Center 375 Beale Street, Board Room San Francisco, California

### 1. CALL TO ORDER / ROLL CALL / CONFIRM QUORUM

ABAG Legislation Committee Vice Chair Julie Pierce, Councilmember, City of Clayton, called the meeting to order at about 4:05 p.m.

Vice Chair Pierce directed the Clerk of the Board to conduct the roll call.

A quorum of the Committee was present at about 4:05 p.m.

#### **Members Present**

Scott Haggerty, Supervisor, County of Alameda—Chair Dave Cortese, Supervisor, County of Santa Clara Pat Eklund, Councilmember, City of Novato Dave Hudson, Councilmember, City of San Ramon Karen Mitchoff, Supervisor, County of Contra Costa Julie Pierce, Councilmember, City of Clayton—Ex officio David Rabbitt, Supervisor, County of Sonoma—Ex officio Belia Ramos, Supervisor, County of Napa Greg Scharff, Councilmember, City of Palo Alto—Ex officio

### **Staff Present**

Steve Heminger, MTC Executive Director
Adrienne Weil, MTC General Counsel
Alix Bockelman, MTC Deputy Executive Director, Policy
Andrew Fremier, MTC Deputy Executive Director, Operations
Brad Paul, MTC Deputy Executive Director, Local Government Services
Randy Rentschler, MTC Legislation and Public Affairs Director
Georgia Gann Dohrmann, MTC Government Relations Associate Manager

## 2. ABAG COMPENSATION ANNOUCEMENT

Fred Castro, ABAG Clerk of the Board, gave the ABAG compensation announcement. Members discussed the compensation disclosure.

# 3. PUBLIC COMMENT

There was no public comment.

#### 4. COMMITTEE ANNOUNCEMENT

There was no committee member announcements.

#### 5. REPORT ON LEGISLATIVE HISTORY

Randy Rentschler, MTC Legislation and Public Affairs Director, referred members to the staff memo.

Members discussed AB 2923 (Chiu).

#### 6. REPORT ON STATE LEGISLATION

# A. SB 828 (Wiener): Regional Housing Needs Assessment and Allocation

Georgia Gann Dohrmann, MTC Government Relations Associate Manager, gave the staff report.

Members discussed minimum unpermitted units from previous RHNA cycles; cities zoning for housing; penalty language for not meeting RHNA numbers.

Steve Heminger, MTC Executive Director, noted RHNA progress as a metric regarding streamlining provisions under SB 35 and commented on the expected RHNA number.

Members discussed eliminating double-counting of RHNA numbers; using a jurisdiction's housing deficit from the previous cycle as the minimum for that jurisdiction's next cycle allocation; correction for crowding, vacancy, and demolition factors.

Chair Haggerty recognized a motion by Pat Eklund, Councilmember, City of Novato, which was seconded by Dave Hudson, Councilmember, City of San Ramon, to recommend to the ABAG Executive Board an oppose position on SB 828 (Wiener).

Members discussed the position of oppose; concentrating housing near transit and fair share housing laws; high housing allocations in wealthier communities and for high income jurisdictions that contain regional job centers with connectivity to high public transit.

Chair Haggerty recognized a substitute motion by Pierce, which was seconded by Greg Scharff, Councilmember, City of Palo Alto, to recommend to the ABAG Executive Board a support if amended position on SB 828 (Wiener) with amendments to include concerns stated by members.

Members discussed the formation of a RHNA methodology committee; taking no position and continuing to work for additional legislation language; development impact fees.

There was no public comment.

Chair Haggerty directed the Clerk to conduct a roll call vote.

The aye votes were: Cortese, Haggerty, Mitchoff, Pierce Rabbitt, Ramos, Scharff.

The nay votes were: Eklund, Hudson.

The abstentions were: None.

Absent were: None.

The motion to recommend to the Executive Board a support if amended position on SB 828 passed.

### B. AB 1771 (Bloom): Regional Housing Needs Allocation

Gann Dohrmann gave the staff report.

Chair Haggerty recognized a motion by Karen Mitchoff, Supervisor, County of Contra Costa, which was seconded by Scharff, to recommend to the ABAG Executive Board an oppose position on AB 1771 (Bloom).

There was no discussion.

ABAG Legislation Committee Meeting Thursday, May 17, 2018 Page 3

There was no public comment.

The aye votes were: Cortese, Eklund, Haggerty, Hudson, Mitchoff, Pierce Rabbitt,

Ramos, Scharff.

The nay votes were: None.
The abstentions were: None.

Absent were: None.

The motion passed unanimously.

# C. SB 831 (Wieckowski) and SB 1469 (Skinner)

Gann Dohrmann gave the staff report.

Chair Haggerty recognized a motion by Mitchoff, which was seconded by Eklund, to recommend to the ABAG Executive Board an oppose position on SB 831 (Wieckowski).

Chair Haggerty recognized a substitute motion by Scharff, which was seconded by Pierce, to recommend to the ABAG Executive Board a support if amended position on SB 831 (Wieckowski).

Members discussed the positions taken by the California State Association of Counties and the League of California Cities; building Auxiliary Dwelling Units (ADU); changes to ADU laws.

Chair Haggerty directed the Clerk to conduct a roll call vote.

There was no public comment.

The aye votes were: Cortese, Haggerty, Hudson, Pierce Rabbitt, Scharff.

The nay votes were: Eklund, Mitchoff, Ramos.

The abstentions were: None.

Absent were: None.

The motion to recommend to the Executive Board a support if amended position on SB 831 passed.

Chair Haggerty recognized a motion by Scharff, which was seconded by David Cortese, Supervisor, County of Santa Clara, to recommend to the ABAG Executive a support if amended position on SB 1469 (Skinner).

Members discussed allowing localities to charge impact fees up to a cap.

There was no public comment.

Chair Haggerty directed the Clerk to conduct a roll call vote.

The aye votes were: Cortese, Haggerty, Mitchoff, Pierce Rabbitt, Ramos, Scharff.

The nay votes were: Eklund, Hudson.

The abstentions were: None.

Absent were: None.

**Summary Minutes** 

ABAG Legislation Committee Meeting Thursday, May 17, 2018 Page 4

The motion to recommend to the Executive Board a support if amended position on SB 1469 passed.

# D. AB 2372 (Gloria): Floor Area Ratio Bonus

Gann Dohrmann gave the staff report.

Members discussed parking requirements.

Chair Haggerty recognized a motion by Mitchoff, which was seconded by Pierce, to recommend to the ABAG Executive Board a support and seek amendment position on AB 2372 (Gloria).

Members discussed floor area ratios and units per acre for measure of density.

There was no public comment.

The aye votes were: Cortese, Haggerty, Hudson, Mitchoff, Pierce Ramos, Scharff.

The nay votes were: None.

The abstentions were: Eklund.

Absent were: Rabbitt.
The motion passed.

### 7. ADJOURNMENT / NEXT MEETING

Chair Haggerty adjourned the meeting at about 5:26 p.m.

The next regular meeting of the ABAG Legislation Committee will be on July 19, 2018.

Submitted:

Fred Castro, Clerk of the Board

Date Submitted: June 8, 2018 Date Approved: July 19, 2018

For information, contact Fred Castro, Clerk of the Board, at (415) 820 7913 or fcastro@bayareametro.gov.