SUMMARY MINUTES

ABAG Legislation Committee Meeting Friday, March 9, 2018 Bay Area Metro Center 375 Beale Street, Board Room San Francisco, California

1. CALL TO ORDER / ROLL CALL / CONFIRM QUORUM

ABAG Legislation Committee Chair Scott Haggerty, Supervisor, County of Alameda, called the meeting to order at about 10:25 a.m.

The Committee met jointly with the Legislation Committee of the Metroplitan Transporation Commission.

Chair Haggerty directed the Clerk of the Board to conduct the roll call.

A quorum of the Committee was present at about 10:25 a.m.

Members Present

Scott Haggerty, Supervisor, County of Alameda—Chair Pat Eklund, Councilmember, City of Novato Dave Hudson, Vice Mayor, City of San Ramon Karen Mitchoff, Supervisor, County of Contra Costa Julie Pierce, Councilmember, City of Clayton—Ex officio Belia Ramos, Supervisor, County of Napa Greg Scharff, Councilmember, City of Palo Alto—Ex officio

Members Absent

Dave Cortese, Supervisor, County of Alameda Davie Pine, Supervisor, County of San Mateo David Rabbitt, Supervisor, County of Sonoma—*Ex officio*

Staff Present

Steve Heminger, MTC Executive Director
Adrienne Weil, MTC General Counsel
Alix Bockelman, MTC Deputy Executive Director, Policy
Andrew Fremier, MTC Deputy Executive Director, Operations
Brad Paul, MTC Deputy Executive Director, Local Government Services
Rebecca Long, MTC Government Relations Manager

2. ABAG COMPENSATION ANNOUCEMENT

Fred Castro, ABAG Clerk of the Board, gave the ABAG compensation announcement.

3. ABAG LEGISLATION COMMITTEE CONSENT CALENDAR

A. Approval of ABAG Legislation Committee Summary Minutes of Meeting on January 12, 2018

Chair Haggerty recognized a motion by Belia Ramos, Supervisor, County of Napa, which was seconded by Greg Scharff, Councilmember, City of Palo Alto, to approve the ABAG Legislation Committee summary minutes of the meeting on January 12, 2018.

ABAG Legislation Committee Meeting Friday, March 9, 2018 Page 2

There was no discussion.

There was no public comment.

The aye votes were: Haggerty, Hudson, Mitchoff, Pierce, Ramos, Scharff.

The nay votes were: None.

The abstentions were: Eklund.

Absent were: Cortese, Pine, Rabbitt.

The ABAG Legislation Committee motion passed.

4. MTC LEGISLATION COMMITTEE CONSENT CALENDAR

A. Approval of MTC Legislation Committee Minutes of the February 9, 2018 Meeting

The MTC Legislation Committee approved the minutes of the February 9, 2018 meeting.

5. INFORMATION

A. Legislative History

Rebecca Long, MTC Government Relations Manager, gave the staff report on Legislative History.

6. STATE LEGISLATION

A. AB 3124 (Bloom): Three-Position Bike Rack on 60 ft. Buses

The MTC Legislation Committee took action to recommend MTC Commission support of AB 3124 (Bloom).

B. Summary of the 2018 Housing Landscape

Long and Georgia Gann Dohrmann, MTC Government Relations Associate Manager, gave the staff report on the 2018 Housing Landscape.

Members discussed the housing bills that have been introduced in 2018 and housingrelated initiatives that may appear on the state-wide ballot in November.

The following individuals gave public comment: Rich Hedges, Roland Lebrun, Jane Kramer.

7. FEDERAL LEGISLATION

A. Federal Transportation and Housing Funding Update

Gann Dohrmann gave the staff report on Federal Transportation and Housing Funding Update.

Members discussed Capital Investment Grants and the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development programs, and NEPA and CEQA reciprocity.

B. Tom Bulger's Report

Long gave the report from Tom Bulger, Washington, D.C. advocate.

Summary Minutes
ABAG Legislation Committee Meeting
Friday, March 9, 2018

Page 3

8. PUBLIC COMMENT / OTHER BUSINESS

There was no public comment.

9. ADJOURNMENT / NEXT MEETING

Chair Haggerty adjourned the meeting of the Legislation Committee at about 11:42 a.m.

The next meeting of the ABAG Legislation Committee will be held jointly with the MTC Legislation Committee at a date to be determined in May 2018.

Submitted:

/s/ Fred Castro, Clerk of the Board

Date Submitted: March 23, 2018 Date Approved: May 11, 2018

For information, contact Fred Castro, Clerk of the Board, at (415) 820 7913 or fcastro@bayareametro.gov.