SUMMARY MINUTES

ABAG Legislation Committee Meeting Friday, January 12, 2018 Bay Area Metro Center Board Room375 Beale Street, Board Room San Francisco, California

1. CALL TO ORDER / ROLL CALL / CONFIRM QUORUM

ABAG Legislation Committee Chair Scott Haggerty, Supervisor, County of Alameda, called the meeting to order at about 9:31 a.m.

The Committee met jointly with the Legislation Committee of the Metroplitan Transporation Commission.

A quorum of the Committee was present at about 9:31 a.m.

Members Present

Scott Haggerty, Supervisor, County of Alameda—*Chair* Dave Hudson, Vice Mayor, City of San Ramon Karen Mitchoff, Supervisor, County of Contra Costa Julie Pierce, Councilmember, City of Clayton—*Ex officio* David Rabbitt, Supervisor, County of Sonoma—*Ex officio* Greg Scharff, Councilmember, City of Palo Alto—*Ex officio*

Members Absent

None

Staff Present

Steve Heminger, MTC Executive Director Adrienne Weil, MTC General Counsel Alix Bockelman, MTC Deputy Executive Director, Policy Andrew Fremier, MTC Deputy Executive Director, Operations Brad Paul, MTC Deputy Executive Director, Local Government Services Rebecca Long, MTC Government Relations Manager Randy Rentschler, MTC Legislation and Public Affairs Director

2. PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

3. ABAG COMPENSATION ANNOUCEMENT

Fred Castro, ABAG Clerk of the Board, gave the ABAG compensation announcement.

4. ABAG LEGISLATION COMMITTEE CONSENT CALENDAR

A. Approval of ABAG Legislation Committee Summary Minutes of Meeting on November 3, 2017

Chair Haggerty recognized a motion by Julie Pierce, Councilmember, City of Clayton, which was seconded by Greg Scharff, Councilmember, City of Palo Alto, to approve the ABAG Legislation Committee summary minutes of the meeting on November 3, 2017.

There was no discussion.

There was no public comment.

The aye votes were: Haggerty, Hudson, Mitchoff, Pierce, Rabbitt, Scharff.

The nay votes were: None.

The abstentions were: None.

Absent were: None.

The motion passed.unanimously.

5. ABAG LEGISLATION COMMITTEE ITEMS

A. ABAG Election of Committee Chair and Vice Chair for 2018 and Designation of Term of Office

Steve Heminger, MTC Executive Director, reported that the ABAG Legislation Committee elects its Chair and Vice Chair at the first meeting of the year for the 2018 term. The results will be ratified by the ABAG Executive Board.

Chair Haggerty called for nominations for Chair and Vice Chair. Haggerty was nominated for Chair. Pierce was nominated for Vice Chair. Haggerty was unanimously elected Chair. Pierce was unanimously elected Vice Chair.

6. MTC COMPENSATION ANNOUCEMENT

Martha Silver, MTC Committee Secretary, gave the MTC compensation announcement.

7. MTC LEGISLATION COMMITTEE CONSENT CALENDAR

A. Approval of MTC Legislation Committee Minutes of December 8, 2017 Meeting

The MTC Legislation Committee took action on this item.

8. APPROVAL

A. 2018 Final MTC/ABAG Joint Advocacy Program

Rebecca Long, MTC Government Relations Manager, presented the 2018 Final MTC/ABAG Joint Advocacy Program.

Members discussed Item 5, Improve High Occupancy Vehicle (HOV) Lane Performance, including legislation to improve the performance of high-occupancy vehicle (HOV) and express lanes through enhanced enforcement of vehicle passenger occupancy requirements.

Members discussed connected and autonomous vehicles and job creation; electronic tolling; express lane design; HOV toll violations; housing supply and affordability.

The following individuals gave public comment: Roland Lebrun; Jane Kramer.

Staff offered to revise the proposal prior to final adoption of the advocacy program.

Chair Haggerty recognized a motion by Pierce, which was seconded by Dave Hudson, Vice Mayor, City of San Ramon, to recommend ABAG Executive Board approval of the Joint MTC/ABAG Joint Advoacy Program, as revised.

There was no discussion.

There was no public comment.

The aye votes were: Haggerty, Hudson, Mitchoff, Pierce, Rabbitt, Scharff.

Summary Minutes ABAG Legislation Committee Meeting Friday, January 12, 2018 Page 3

The nay votes were: None.

The abstentions were: None.

Absent were: None.

The motion passed unanimously.

9. INFORMATION

A. Legislative History

Long gave the staff report on legislative history.

Members discussed AB 1745 (Ting) and AB 13 (Eggman).

10. FEDERAL LEGISLATION

A. Update on Federal Tax Bill

Long gave the staff report on the federal tax bill.

B. Tom Bulger's Report

Randy Rentschler, MTC Legislation and Public Affairs Director gave the report from Tom Bulger, Washington, D.C. advocate.

Members discussed Cap and Trade and CalEnivroScreen.

11. PUBLIC COMMENT / OTHER BUSINESS

There was no public comment.

12. ADJOURNMENT / NEXT MEETING

Chair Haggerty adjourned the meeting of the Legislation Committee at about 10:39 a.m.

The next regular meeting of the ABAG Legislation Committee is on March 15, 2018.

Submitted:

/s/ Fred Castro, Clerk of the Board

Date Submitted: January 29, 2018

Date Approved: March 9, 2018

For information, contact Fred Castro, Clerk of the Board, at (415) 820 7913 or FredC@abag.ca.gov.