

## **Meeting Minutes - Final**

Bay Area Metro Center 375 Beale Street Suite 700 San Francisco, California

## **ABAG Housing Committee**

Wednesday, February 14, 2024 12:00 PM **Board Room - 1st Floor** 

#### Joint meeting with the BAHFA Oversight Committee

#### Roster

Jesse Arreguin, Nikki Fortunato Bas, Pat Eklund, Carroll Fife, Neysa Fligor, Lisa Motoyama, Peter Ortiz, David Rabbitt, Belia Ramos, Carlos Romero, Aaron Tiedemann, Wanda Williams

#### 1. Call to Order / Pledge of Allegiance / Roll Call / Confirm Quorum

Chair Romero called the meeting to order at about 12:11 p.m. Quorum was present.

Present: 9 - Arreguin, Bas, Eklund, Fife, Fligor, Ortiz, Rabbitt, Romero, and Tiedemann

Absent: 3 - Motoyama, Ramos, and Williams

#### 2. ABAG Housing Committee Election of Chair and Vice Chair

2a. 24-0038 Election of ABAG Housing Committee Chair and Vice Chair

> Upon the motion by Tiedemann and second by Rabbitt, the ABAG Housing Committee elected Carlos Romero, Councilmember, City of East Palo Alto, as Chair and Neysa Fligor, Councilmember, City of Los Altos, as Vice Chair. The motion passed unanimously by the following vote:

Aye: 9 - Arreguin, Bas, Eklund, Fife, Fligor, Ortiz, Rabbitt, Romero, and Tiedemann

Absent: 3 - Motoyama, Ramos, and Williams

#### 3. Public Comment

#### 4. Committee Member Announcements

### 5. Chairs' Report

24-0166 ABAG Housing Committee and BAHFA Oversight Committee Chairs' 5a.

Report for February 14, 2024

Chair Romero and Chair Pedroza gave the report.

#### 6. ABAG Housing Committee Consent Calendar

Upon the motion by Rabbitt and second by Tiedemann the ABAG Housing Committee approved the Consent Calendar. The motion passed unanimously by the following vote:

Aye: 9 - Arreguin, Bas, Eklund, Fife, Fligor, Ortiz, Rabbitt, Romero, and Tiedemann

Absent: 3 - Motoyama, Ramos, and Williams

**6a.** 24-0013 Approval of ABAG Housing Committee Minutes of November 8, 2023

#### 7. BAHFA Oversight Committee Consent Calendar

The BAHFA Oversight Committee took action on this item.

**7a.** 24-0014 Approval of BAHFA Oversight Committee Minutes of November 8, 2023

#### 8. BAHFA Business Plan

**8a.** <u>24-0163</u>

Referral of Adoption of a Resolution on the Approval of the Bay Area Housing Finance Authority's Business Plan by the ABAG Executive Board as the Executive Board to the Bay Area Housing Finance Authority (Executive Board) and by the Bay Area Housing Finance Authority (BAHFA Board); CEQA Determination: Exempt Pursuant to Public Resources Code § 21065; Government Code § 64523

Upon the motion by Tiedemann and second by Rabbitt, the ABAG Housing Committee referred adoption of a resolution on the Approval of the Bay Area Housing Finance Authority's Business Plan by the ABAG Executive Board, as the Executive Board to the Bay Area Housing Finance Authority (Executive Board). The motion passed unanimously by the following vote:

Aye: 9 - Arreguin, Bas, Eklund, Fife, Fligor, Ortiz, Rabbitt, Romero, and Tiedemann

Absent: 3 - Motoyama, Ramos, and Williams

#### 9. BAHFA Regional Expenditure Plan

#### 9a. <u>24-0164</u>

Referral to the ABAG Executive Board as the Executive Board to the Bay Area Housing Finance Authority (Executive Board) and to the Bay Area Housing Finance Authority (BAHFA Board) to adopt BAHFA's Regional Expenditure Plan; CEQA Determination Exempt Pursuant to Public Resources Code § 21065; Government Code § 64523

Kate Hartley gave the report.

The following gave public comment:

Adam Wood

Alison Cingolani

Anne Bradley

Bill Barnes

Charles Lavery

Chloe Salem

Charles Deffarges

Cindy Wu

Calum Weeks

Caroline McCormack

Corey Smith

Courtney Pal

Gina Galen

Glenn Lavall

Grecia Mannah Ayon

**Heather Hood** 

**Howard Wong** 

**Irving Torres** 

Jack Buckhorn

Jean Cohen

Jenny Silva

Jordan Grimes

Jose Luis Rivera

Joshua Anijar

Judith Bloomberg

Judy Jackson

Keith Arivnwine

Ken Chan

Lizbet Modrigal

Matt Regan

Mitch Mankin

Monica Strauch

Rachel Shomake

Rich Hedges

Rodney Nickens, Jr.

Ronald Brown

Ruby Rodriguez

Page 3 Printed on 3/27/2024

Scott Littlehale Sharon Cornu Sheila Gay

Upon the motion by Tiedemann and second by Rabbitt, the ABAG Housing Committee referred to the ABAG Executive Board as the Executive Board to the Bay Area Housing Finance Authority adoption of BAHFA's Regional Expenditure Plan and directed staff to report on the labor standards for inclusion in BAHFA's 20% regional funding Expenditure Plan at its next meeting. The motion passed unanimously by the following vote:

Aye: 9 - Arreguin, Bas, Eklund, Fife, Fligor, Ortiz, Rabbitt, Romero, and Tiedemann

Absent: 3 - Motoyama, Ramos, and Williams

# 10. November 2024 Ballot Measure for General Obligation Bond for Affordable Housing

#### **10a.** <u>24-0165</u>

Referral to the ABAG Executive Board as the Executive Board to the Bay Area Housing Finance Authority ("Executive Board") and to the Bay Area Housing Finance Authority Board adoption of a resolution to approve or submit, as applicable, a ballot measure for a general obligation bond for affordable housing in an amount not to exceed \$20 billion to the voters of the counties of Alameda, Contra Costa, Marin, Napa, San Mateo, Santa Clara, Solano and Sonoma and the city and county of San Francisco (the "Nine Bay Area Counties") at the November 2024 general election consistent with the requirements of the final version of Assembly Constitutional Amendment No. 1 (2023)

Kate Hartley gave the report.

The following gave public comment:

Bart Pantoja

David Bini

E J Cire

Jack Buckhorn

Jose

Julie Lind

Keith Brown

Kim Tavaglione

Lisa Danz

Maddy Hirshfield

Rudy Gonzalez

The following submitted public comment:

Sharon Cornu, St. Mary's Center

Sophia DeWitt, East Bay Housing Organizations

Lawrence Florin, Burbank Housing

Heather Hood, Enterprise

David Lewis, Save The Bay

Sam Moss, Mission Housing Development Corporation

Karen Nemsick, United Way Bay Area

Elisa Orona, Partnership for the Bay's Future

Dan Sawislak, Resources for Community Development

Regina Celestin Williams, SV@Home

Joni Eisen

Nancy Haber

Jaclyn Kimball

Karen Kirschling

**Jackie Pomies** 

David Roche

s w

Anonymous

Chandra Alexandre, Community Action Marin

Page 5 Printed on 3/27/2024

Fred Blackwell, San Francisco Foundation
Ellen Wu, Urban Habitat
Keith Brown, Alameda Labor Council, et al
Rebecca Foster, San Francisco Housing Accelerator Fund
Ricardo G. Huerta Nino, San Francisco Foundation
Jen Klose, Generation Housing
Karen Mensick, United Way Bay Area
Noni Ramos, Housing Trust Silicon Valley
Matt Regan, Bay Area Council
Marti Roach, 350 Contra Costa Action
Cindy Wu, LISC Bay Area
Ellun Wu, Urban Habitat

## 11. Adjournment / Next Meeting

Chair Romero adjourned the meeting at about 3:20 p.m. The next regular meeting of the ABAG Housing Comittee and BAHFA Oversight Committee is on March 13, 2024.