Association of Bay Area Governments



**Metropolitan Transportation** 

Commission

**Meeting Minutes** 

Bay Area Metro Center 375 Beale Street San Francisco, CA 94105

# Joint MTC ABAG Legislation Committee

|                          | David Canepa, Chair Jesse Arreguin, Vice Chai | r                      |
|--------------------------|---|------------------------|
| Friday, December 8, 2023 | 9:45 AM                                       | Board Room - 1st Floor |

Roster

David Canepa (Chair), Jesse Arreguin, (Vice Chair), Eddie Ahn, Ken Carlson, Carol Dutra-Vernaci, Pat Eklund, Dorene M. Giacopini\*, Matt Mahan, Stephanie Moulton-Peters, Sue Noack, David Rabbitt, Belia Ramos, James P. Spering, Aaron Tiedemann, Vacant, and Vacant \*Non-Voting Member

# 1. Call to Order / Roll Call / Confirm Quorum

- Present: 12 Chair Canepa, Vice Chair Arreguin, Committee Member Ahn, Committee Member Carlson, Committee Member Dutra-Vernaci, Committee Member Eklund, Committee Member Moulton-Peters, Committee Member Noack, Committee Member Rabbitt, Committee Member Ramos, Committee Member Spering and Committee Member Tiedemann
- Absent: 1 Committee Member Mahan

Non-Voting Member Present: Dorene M. Giacopini Ex Officio Voting Member Present: Commission Chair Pedroza

The following individuals participated from noticed remote locations: Vice Chair Arreguin, Member Carlson, Member Eklund, Member Giacopini, and Member Ramos.

## 2. Consent Calendar

Upon the motion by Committee Member Rabbitt and second by Committee Member Eklund, the Consent Calendar was unanimously approved. The motion carried by the following vote:

- Aye: 12 Chair Canepa, Vice Chair Arreguin, Committee Member Ahn, Committee Member Carlson, Committee Member Dutra-Vernaci, Committee Member Eklund, Committee Member Moulton-Peters, Committee Member Noack, Committee Member Rabbitt, Committee Member Ramos, Committee Member Spering and Committee Member Tiedemann
- Absent: 1 Committee Member Mahan
- 2a.23-1340Approval of Joint MTC ABAG Legislation Committee Minutes of the<br/>November 3, 2023 Meeting

Action: Committee Approval

**2b.** <u>23-1341</u> Washington, D.C. Legislative Update

Report on key legislative, funding and political developments over the past month from Washington, D.C. prepared by the Summit Strategies team.

- Action: Information
- Presenter: Georgia Gann Dohrmann

## 3. Transportation

**3a.** <u>23-1494</u> Bay Area Regional Transportation Effort - Voter Survey Report

Analysis of a poll conducted by EMC Research, Inc. (EMC), which examined voter opinions on potential transportation funding measures, general concerns, and priorities and perceptions of transportation (and public transit in particular) to help inform a future regional transportation measure enabling legislation.

Action: Information

Presenter: Rebecca Long, MTC & Ruth Bernstein, EMC Research, Inc.

The following individuals spoke on this item:

Charley Lavery, MTC Policy Advisory Council; Greg Greenway, Chamber of San Mateo County; Emily Wheeler, Public Advocates; Andrew; Ray Mueller, Caltrain and CalTrans; Peter Straus, SF Transit Riders; and Adina Levin, Friends of CalTrain.

#### **3b.** <u>23-1424</u> Regional Transportation Revenue Measure Update

Update on a potential 2026 regional transportation revenue measure, including background on potential reform concepts that could accompany enabling legislation.

Action: Information

## Presenter: Rebecca Long

The following individuals spoke on this item:

Ian Griffiths, Seamless Bay Area; Glenn S. Overton; Emily Loper, Bay Area Council; Charley Lavery, MTC Policy Advisory Council and Operating Engineers Union Local 3; Greg Greenway, Chamber of San Mateo County; Laurel Paget-Seekins, Public Advocates; Peter Straus, SF Transit Riders; Adina Levin; Christine Fitzgerald; Bob Allen, Urban Habitat and Voices for Public Transportation; Raayan Mohtashemi, Legislative Aide Senator Scott Wiener; Larisa Ocañada, SAMCEDA; Andrew; Nadia Naik, CARRD; Amy Thomson, TransForm; Cyrus Hall; and Diane Howard, Redwood City City Council.

Written public comments were received from: Congress Members Eshoo, Mullin, Lofgren, and Panetta; Senator Josh Becker; Voices for Public Transportation SPUR; CARRD, Chamber of San Mateo County, and SAMCEDA; SamTrans; Seamless Bay Area; and Caltrain.

## 4. State and Federal Legislation

**4a.** <u>23-1343</u> Sacramento and Washington, D.C. Visits

Update on preparations for MTC/ABAG's 2024 Sacramento and Washington, D.C., legislative advocacy trips.

Action: Information

Presenter: Georgia Gann Dohrmann

## 5. Public Comment / Other Business

6. Adjournment / Next Meeting

The next meeting of the Joint MTC ABAG Legislation Committee will be held on Friday, January 12, 2024 at 9:45 a.m. at the Bay Area Metro Center, 375 Beale Street, San Francisco, CA, and other remote locations. Any changes to the schedule will be duly noticed to the public.