

Meeting Minutes - Final

Joint MTC ABAG Legislation Committee

David Canepa, Chair Jesse Arreguin, Vice Chair

Members

Eddie Ahn, Ken Carlson, Carol Dutra-Vernaci, Pat Eklund, Dave Hudson, Matt Mahan, Stephanie Moulton-Peters, Sue Noack, David Rabbitt, Belia Ramos, James P. Spering, Aaron Tiedemann, Vacant, and Vacant Non-Voting Member Dorene M. Giacopini

Friday, April 14, 2023 9:45 AM Board Room - 1st Floor

1. Call to Order / Roll Call / Confirm Quorum

Present: 9 - Committee Member Eklund, Committee Member Spering, Chair Canepa, Committee

Member Dutra-Vernaci, Committee Member Rabbitt, Committee Member Mahan, Committee Member Noack, Committee Member Moulton-Peters and Vice Chair

Arreguin

Absent: 3 - Committee Member Ahn, Committee Member Ramos and Committee Member

Hudson

Non-Voting Member Absent: Commissioner Giacopini

Ex Officio Voting Member Present: Commission Chair Pedroza

The following individual participated from a noticed remote location: Member Eklund

2. Consent Calendar

Upon the motion by Committee Member Spering and second by Committee Member Dutra-Vernaci, the

Consent Calendar was unanimously approved. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 9 - Committee Member Eklund, Committee Member Spering, Chair Canepa, Committee Member Dutra-Vernaci, Committee Member Rabbitt, Committee Member Mahan, Committee Member Noack, Committee Member Moulton-Peters and Vice Chair Arreguin

Absent: 3 - Committee Member Ahn, Committee Member Ramos and Committee Member Hudson

2a. 23-0419 Approval of Joint MTC ABAG Legislation Committee Minutes of the March

10, 2023 Meeting

Action: Committee Approval

Attachments: 2a 23-0419 2023-03-10 Joint MTC ABAG Legislation Committee

Meeting Minutes Draft.pdf

2b. 23-0420 Legislative History

Detailed list of bills the ABAG and MTC are tracking in Sacramento,

including those ABAG or MTC supports or opposes.

Action: Information

Presenter: Georgia Gann Dohrmann

Attachments: 2b Handout April Legislative History.pdf

Commissioner Dutra-Vernaci departed after voting on the Consent Calendar.

3. State Legislation

3a. 23-0509 MTC/ABAG Sacramento Advocacy Visit - May 2023

Update on preparations for MTC/ABAG's May 2023 Sacramento

advocacy trip.

Action: Information

Presenter: Georgia Gann Dohrmann

Attachments: 3a 23-0509 Summary Sheet MTC ABAG Sacramento Advocacy V

isit May 2023..pdf

3b. 23-0510 Assembly Bill 645 (Friedman): Speed Safety Pilot Program

> Revised version of legislation MTC supported in 2021 and 2022 (Assembly Bill (AB) 550 (Chiu, 2021) and AB 2336 (Friedman, 2022)) to authorize specified cities to implement five-year pilots to test speed safety

cameras, under specific circumstances.

Action: Support / MTC Commission Approval

Presenter: Georgia Gann Dohrmann

Attachments: 14a 23-0510 AB645 Friedman Speed Safety Pilot Program.pdf

Upon the motion by Committee Member Mahan and second by Committee Member Noack, a support position on AB 645 (Friedman) was adopted to be forwarded to the ABAG Executive Board Approval and MTC Commission Approval for approval, respectively. The motion carried unanimously by the

following vote:

Aye: 8 - Committee Member Eklund, Committee Member Spering, Chair Canepa, Committee Member Rabbitt, Committee Member Mahan, Committee Member Noack,

Committee Member Moulton-Peters and Vice Chair Arreguin

Absent: 4 - Committee Member Ahn. Committee Member Ramos. Committee Member Dutra-Vernaci and Committee Member Hudson

> Printed on 6/14/2023 Page 2

3c. Assembly Bill 413 (Lee): Vehicles: Stopping, Standing and Parking Near a Crosswalk

Prohibits vehicles from stopping, standing or parking within 20 feet of a marked crosswalk or intersection to improve visibility of bicyclists and

pedestrians.

Action: Support and Seek Amendment / MTC Commission Approval

Presenter: Georgia Gann Dohrmann

Attachments: 11g 23-0511 AB413 Lee Vehicles Stopping Standing Parking Cro

sswalk.pdf

Upon the motion by Committee Member Noack and seconded by Committee Member Eklund, a support and seek amendment position on AB 413 (Lee) was adopted to be forwarded to the ABAG Executive Board and MTC Commission Approval for approval, respectively. The motion carried unanimously by the following vote:

Aye: 8 - Committee Member Eklund, Committee Member Spering, Chair Canepa, Committee Member Rabbitt, Committee Member Mahan, Committee Member Noack, Committee Member Moulton-Peters and Vice Chair Arreguin

Absent: 4 - Committee Member Ahn, Committee Member Ramos, Committee Member

Dutra-Vernaci and Committee Member Hudson

3d. Assembly Bill 463 (Hart): Priority Access to Electricity for Public Transportation

Provides public transportation access to the electric grid during emergencies.

Action: Support / MTC Commission Approval

Presenter: Georgia Gann Dohrmann

Attachments: 11h 23-0536 AB463 Hart Priority Access Electricity Public Transit

.pdf

Upon the motion by Committee Member Moulton-Peters and second by Committee Member Noack, a support position on AB 463 (Hart) was adopted to be forwarded to the MTC Commission Approval for approval. The motion carried unanimously by the following vote:

Aye: 8 - Committee Member Eklund, Committee Member Spering, Chair Canepa, Committee Member Rabbitt, Committee Member Mahan, Committee Member Noack, Committee Member Moulton-Peters and Vice Chair Arreguin

Absent: 4 - Committee Member Ahn, Committee Member Ramos, Committee Member Dutra-Vernaci and Committee Member Hudson

3e. 23-0513 Senate Bill 532 (Wiener): Local Ballot Measure Labels

Provides option for local bonds and other tax measures to provide details via the voter guide instead of on the ballot label, with transparency safeguards.

Action: Ratify Support / MTC Commission Affirmation

<u>Presenter:</u> Julie Snyder

Attachments: 14b 23-0513 SB532 Wiener Local Ballot Measure Labels.pdf

Upon the motion by Committee Member Mahan and seconded by Vice Chair Arreguin, a support position on SB 532 (Wiener) was adopted to be forwarded to the ABAG Executive Board and MTC Commission Approval for approval, respectively.

Staff requested MTC Chair Pedroza and ABAG President Arreguin to concur with the emergency procedure to communicate a position on SB 532 (Wiener) prior to the ABAG Executive Board and MTC Commission meeting date. MTC Chair Pedroza and ABAG President Arreguin indicated their concurrence. This is in conformance with MTC Resolution No. 1058, Revised, MTC Commission Procedures Manual.

The motion carried unanimously by the following vote:

Aye: 8 - Committee Member Eklund, Committee Member Spering, Chair Canepa, Committee Member Rabbitt, Committee Member Mahan, Committee Member Noack, Committee Member Moulton-Peters and Vice Chair Arreguin

Absent: 4 - Committee Member Ahn, Committee Member Ramos, Committee Member Dutra-Vernaci and Committee Member Hudson

4. Federal Legislation

4a. <u>23-0514</u> MTC/ABAG Washington, D.C. Advocacy Trip

Summary of MTC and ABAG's joint advocacy visit to Washington, D.C.

Action: Information

Presenter: Georgia Gann Dohrmann

Attachments: 4ai 23-0514 Summary Sheet MTC-ABAG Washington D.C. Advoc

acv Trip.pdf

4aii 23-0514 Attachment A ABAG-MTC Bay Area Housing-2023 H

andout.pdf

4aiii 23-0514 Attachment B MTC ABAG March 2023 DC Advocac

y Schedule FINAL.pdf

4b. 23-0421 Washington, D.C. Legislative Update

Report on key legislative, funding and political developments over the past month from Washington, D.C. prepared by the Summit Strategies team.

Action: Information

Presenter: Georgia Gann Dohrmann

Attachments: 4b 23-0421 Handout Summit Strategies MTC Report March 2023.

pdf

5. Public Comment / Other Business

6. Adjournment / Next Meeting

The next meeting of the Joint MTC ABAG Legislation Committee will be held on Friday, May 12, 2023 at 9:45 a.m. at the Bay Area Metro Center, 375 Beale Street, San Francisco, CA, and other remote locations. Any changes to the schedule will be duly noticed to the public.