

Meeting Minutes - Final

375 Beale Street Suite 700 San Francisco, California 94105

ABAG Legislation Committee

Chair, Julie Pierce, Mayor, City of Clayton Vice Chair, Dave Hudson, Councilmember, City of San Ramon

Friday, July 10, 2020 10:35 AM Remote

Association of Bay Area Governments Legislation Committee

The ABAG Legislation Committee may act on any item on the agenda.

The ABAG Legislation Committee will meet jointly with the MTC Legislation Committee.

The meeting is scheduled to begin at 10:35 a.m., or immediately following the preceding committee meeting.

Agenda, roster, and webcast available at https://abag.ca.gov For information, contact Clerk of the Board at (415) 820-7913.

Roster

Jesse Arreguin, David Cortese, Pat Eklund, Scott Haggerty, Barbara Halliday, Dave Hudson, Gordon Mar, Karen Mitchoff, Julie Pierce, David Rabbitt, Belia Ramos

1. Call to Order / Roll Call / Confirm Quorum

Chair Pierce called the meeting to order at about 1:01 p.m. Quorum was present.

Present: 10 - Arreguin, Cortese, Eklund, Haggerty, Halliday, Hudson, Mitchoff, Pierce, Rabbitt,

and Ramos

Absent: 1 - Mar

2. ABAG Compensation Announcement - ABAG Clerk of the Board

The ABAG Clerk of the Board gave the ABAG compensation announcement.

3. ABAG Legislation Committee Consent Calendar

Upon the motion by Hudson and second by Mitchoff, the ABAG Legislation Committee approved the Consent Calendar. The motion passed unanimously by the following vote:

Aye: 10 - Arreguin, Cortese, Eklund, Haggerty, Halliday, Hudson, Mitchoff, Pierce, Rabbitt, and Ramos

Absent: 1 - Mar

Page 1 Printed on 9/16/2020

3.a.	<u>20-1087</u>	Approval of ABAG Legislation Committee Summary Minutes of the June 12, 2020 Meeting
3.b.	20-1088	Legislative History
3.c.	20-1089	Fiscal Year (FY) 2020-21 State Budget Update
3.d.	20-1090	Senate Bill 995 (Atkins): Extension of California Environmental Quality Act (CEQA) Judicial Review Streamlining Authority

4. MTC Legislation Committee Consent Calendar

The MTC Legislation Committee took action on this item.

The following gave public comment: Roland Lebrun.

4.a.	<u>20-0950</u>	Approval of MTC Legislation Committee Minutes of the June 12, 2020
		Meeting

- **4.b.** <u>20-0951</u> Legislative History
- **4.c.** <u>20-1065</u> Fiscal Year (FY) 2020-21 State Budget Update
- **4.d.** Senate Bill 995 (Atkins): Extension of California Environmental Quality Act (CEQA) Judicial Review Streamlining Authority
- **4.e.** <u>20-1069</u> Senate Bill 288 (Wiener): Sustainable Transportation Acceleration
- 4.f. 20-1068 U.S. House of Representatives Infrastructure Bill Update
- 4.g. 20-0952 Tom Bulger's Report

5. State Legislation

5.a. 20-1091 Senate Bill 902 (Wiener): Housing Approval Streamlining Tool

Creates an optional tool for local governments to streamline upzoning in transit-rich locations, jobs-rich or urban infill sites.

The following gave public comment: John Minot.

Upon the motion by Hudson and second by Mitchoff, the ABAG Legislation Committee recommended ABAG Executive Board approval of a support position on SB 902 (Wiener). The motion passed by the following vote:

Aye: 8 - Arreguin, Haggerty, Halliday, Hudson, Mitchoff, Pierce, Rabbitt, and Ramos

Nay: 1 - Eklund

Absent: 2 - Cortese, and Mar

5.b. 20-1092 Assembly Bill 3040 (Chiu): Missing Middle Housing Incentive

Local government incentive to authorize fourplexes by-right in single family zones with accompanying credit under Regional Housing Needs Allocation (RHNA).

The following gave public comment: John Minot.

Upon the motion by Halliday and second by Arreguin, the ABAG Legislation Committee recommended ABAG Executive Board approval of an urgency support position on AB 3040 (Chiu). The motion passed by the following vote:

Aye: 7 - Arreguin, Eklund, Haggerty, Halliday, Mitchoff, Pierce, and Ramos

Nay: 1 - Hudson

Absent: 3 - Cortese, Mar, and Rabbitt

6. Public Comment / Other Business

The following gave public comment: Robert Fruchtman.

7. Adjournment / Next Meeting

Chari Pierce adjourned the meeting at about 1:46 p.m. The next regular meeting of the ABAG Legislation Committee is on September 11, 2020.