

Meeting Minutes - Final

ABAG Legislation Committee

| | Chair, Julie Pierce, Mayor, City of Clayton Vice Chair, Dave Hudson, Councilmember, City of San Ramon | |
|---------------------------|--|------------------------|
| Friday, February 14, 2020 | 9:35 AM | Board Room - 1st Floor |
| | | |

Association of Bay Area Governments Legislation Committee

The ABAG Legislation Committee may act on any item on the agenda. The ABAG Legislation Committee will meet jointly with the MTC Legislation Committee. The meeting is scheduled to begin at 9:35 a.m., or immediately following the preceding committee meeting. Agenda, roster, and webcast available at https://abag.ca.gov For information, contact Clerk of the Board at (415) 820-7913.

Location

Bay Area Metro Center, 375 Beale Street, Board Room, San Francisco, California Teleconference Location Napa County Administration Building, 1195 Third Street, Suite 310, Napa, California

Roster Jesse Arreguin, David Cortese, Pat Eklund, Scott Haggerty, Dave Hudson, Karen Mitchoff, Julie Pierce, David Rabbitt, Belia Ramos

1. Call to Order / Roll Call / Confirm Quorum

President Arreguin called the meeting to order at about 9:38 a.m. Quorum was present. A teleconference location in Napa County was accessible to the public.

Present: 6 - Arreguin, Cortese, Eklund, Haggerty, Hudson, and Mitchoff

Absent: 3 - Pierce, Rabbitt, and Ramos

2. ABAG Compensation Announcement - Clerk of the Board

The ABAG Clerk of the Board gave the ABAG compensation announcement.

3. ABAG Legislation Committee Consent Calendar

Upon the motion by Mitchoff and second by Haggerty, the ABAG Consent Calendar was approved. The motion passed unanimously by the following vote:

Aye: 6 - Arreguin, Cortese, Eklund, Haggerty, Hudson, and Mitchoff

Absent: 3 - Pierce, Rabbitt, and Ramos

3.a. <u>20-0221</u> Approval of ABAG Legislation Committee Summary Minutes of the January 10, 2020 Meeting

4. ABAG Legislation Committee Approval

4.a. <u>20-0352</u> Election of Legislation Committee Chair and Vice Chair

Election of ABAG Legislation Committee Chair and Vice Chair.

Upon the motion by Haggerty and second by Mitchoff, the nomination of Pierce as ABAG Legislation Committee Chair was approved. The motion passed unanimously by the following vote:

- Aye: 6 Arreguin, Cortese, Eklund, Haggerty, Hudson, and Mitchoff
- Absent: 3 Pierce, Rabbitt, and Ramos

Upon the motion by Haggerty and second by Eklund, the nomination of Hudson as ABAG Legislation Committee Vice Chair was approved. The motion passed unanimously by the following vote:

- Aye: 6 Arreguin, Cortese, Eklund, Haggerty, Hudson, and Mitchoff
- Absent: 3 Pierce, Rabbitt, and Ramos

5. MTC Legislation Committee Consent Calendar

The MTC Legislation Committee took action on this item.

- **5.a.** <u>20-0166</u> Approval of MTC Legislation Committee Minutes of the January 10, 2020 Meeting
- **5.b.** <u>19-1043</u> MTC Resolution No. 3931, Revised Policy Advisory Council Appointment

6. Information

6.a. <u>20-0231</u> Legislative History

Detailed list of bills the Commission is tracking in Sacramento and Washington D.C., including those ABAG or MTC supports or opposes.

Rebecca Long gave the report.

7. Local Legislation - MTC Legislation Committee Approval

| 7.a. | <u>20-0256</u> | Sonoma-Marin Area Rail Transit (SMART) 1/4-cent Sales Tax Extensior | |
|------|----------------|--|--|
| | | Proposed support for a 30-year extension of the SMART District's sales tax. | |
| | | Georgia Gann Dohrmann gave the report. The MTC Legislation Committee took action on this item. | |
| 7.b. | <u>20-0292</u> | Measure J: Contra Costa Transportation Authority | |
| | | Proposed support for Measure 1, a new Contra Costa County ¹ /cent sales | |

Proposed support for Measure J, a new Contra Costa County ½-cent sales tax.

Rebecca Long gave the report. The MTC Legislation Committee took action on this item.

8. State Legislation

8.a. <u>20-0208</u> State Budget Update

Update on the Governor's Fiscal Year (FY) 2020-21 Budget proposal. Rebecca Long gave the report.

8.b. <u>20-0351</u> Senate Bill 278 (Beall): Bay Area Transportation Revenue Measure

Update on proposed legislation to authorize a one percent sales tax to be approved by the voters in the nine Bay Area counties to fund transportation improvements and potentially affordable housing, and proposed advocacy concepts for that legislation.

Rebecca Long gave the report.

The following gave public comment: Laura Tolkoff, FASTER Bay Area and SPUR; Ian Griffith, Seamless Bay Area; Monica Mallon, Voices for Public Transportation; Adina Levin, Seamless Bay Area and Friends of Caltrain; Hailey Currier, TransForm and Voices for Public Transportation; James Kuszmaul; Bob Allen, Urban Habitat and Voices for Public Transportation; Justine Marcus, Enterprise Community Partners; and Roland Lebrun.

Upon the motion by Mitchoff and second by Haggerty, the ABAG Legislation Committee recommended ABAG Executive Board approval the advocacy principles, as amended, to guide early engagement on Senate Bill 278 (Beall): Bay Area Transportation Revenue Measure to convey in any meetings with legislators and others a number of additional concerns that were expressed, including the following: consideration of adding more progressive revenue sources in addition to the sales tax; ensuring that transit operations is adequately funded by the measure; and including climate restoration goals connected to infrastructure projects focused on reducing greenhouse gas emissions. The motion passed by the following vote:

- Aye: 5 Arreguin, Cortese, Haggerty, Hudson, and Mitchoff
- Absent: 3 Pierce, Rabbitt, and Ramos

Abstain: 1 - Eklund

8.c. <u>20-0327</u> Senate Bill 795 (Beall): Affordable Housing and Community Development Investment Program

SB 795 is a reintroduction of SB 5 (Beall), which MTC and ABAG supported last year, but which was ultimately vetoed by the Governor due to concerns about its impact on the General Fund. The bill would establish a new mechanism to use local property tax revenue for affordable housing, infrastructure and climate change mitigation, among other purposes.

Upon the motion by Mitchoff and second by Eklund, the ABAG Legislation Committee recommended that the ABAG Executive Board take a support position on Senate Bill 795 (Beall). The motion passed unanimously by the following vote:

- Aye: 6 Arreguin, Cortese, Eklund, Haggerty, Hudson, and Mitchoff
- Absent: 3 Pierce, Rabbitt, and Ramos

9. Federal Legislation

9.a. <u>20-0167</u> Tom Bulger's Report

Report from Washington, D.C. advocate.

Randy Rentschler gave the report.

10. Public Comment / Other Business

There was no public comment.

11. Adjournment / Next meeting

President Arreguin adjourned the meeting at about 11:34 a.m. The next regular meeting of the ABAG Legislation Committee is on March 13, 2020.