

Meeting Minutes - Final

375 Beale Street Suite 700 San Francisco, California 94105

ABAG Legislation Committee

Chair, Scott Haggerty, Supervisor, County of Alameda Vice Chair, Julie Pierce, Councilmember, City of Clayton

Friday, February 8, 2019 9:35 AM Board Room - 1st Floor

Association of Bay Area Governments Legislation Committee

The ABAG Legislation Committee may act on any item on the agenda.

The ABAG Legislation Committee will meet jointly with the MTC Legislation Committee.

The meeting is scheduled to begin at 9:35 a.m.,

or immediately following the preceding ABAG committee meeting.

Agenda, roster, and webcast available at http://abag.ca.gov

For information, contact Clerk of the Board at (415) 820-7913.

Legislation Committee Roster

Scott Haggerty, Supervisor, County of Alameda—Chair
Julie Pierce, Councilmember, City of Clayton—Vice Chair
Jesse Arreguin, Mayor, City of Berkeley
David Cortese, Supervisor, County of Santa Clara
Pat Eklund, Councilmember, City of Novato
Dave Hudson, Councilmember, City of San Ramon
Karen Mitchoff, Supervisor, County of Contra Costa
David Rabbitt, Supervisor, County of Sonoma
Belia Ramos, Supervisor, County of Napa

1. Call to Order / Roll Call / Confirm Quorum

Chair Haggerty called the meeting to order at about 11:08 a.m. Jesse Arreguin, Mayor, City of Berkeley, is an ex officio member of the committee. Quorum was present.

Present: 9 - Arreguin, Cortese, Eklund, Haggerty, Hudson, Mitchoff, Pierce, Rabbitt, and Ramos

2. MTC Commission Chair's Report - Mackenzie

MTC Chair Mackenzie presented Alicia Aguirre a resolution in appreciation for her service on the Metropolitan Transportation Commission.

Page 1 Printed on 6/12/2019

2.a. <u>19-0130</u> MTC Resolution No. 4367 - Resolution of Appreciation for Commissioner Alicia Aguirre on the Occasion of Her Departure from MTC

The MTC Legislation Committee took action on this item.

3. ABAG Compensation Announcement - Clerk of the Board

The Clerk of the Board gave the compensation announcement.

4. ABAG Legislation Committee Consent Calendar

4.a. 19-0100 Approval of ABAG Legislation Committee Minutes of January 17, 2019

Upon the motion by Pierce and second by Arreguin, the ABAG Legislation Committee minutes of January 17, 2019 were approved. The motion passed unanimously by the following vote:

Aye: 9 - Arreguin, Cortese, Eklund, Haggerty, Hudson, Mitchoff, Pierce, Rabbitt, and Ramos

5. MTC Legislation Committee Consent Calendar

5.a. 19-0101 Approval of MTC Legislation Committee Minutes of January 11, 2019

The MTC Legislation Committee took action on this item.

6. Information

6.a. <u>19-0104</u> Legislative History

Rebecca Long reported that the Legislative History was under the MTC Legislation Committee Consent Calendar.

7. State Legislation

7.a. 19-0128 ACA 1 (Aguilar-Curry): Voter Approval Requirements for Local Tax and Bond Measures - Support

Reduces vote threshold to 55 percent for affordable housing and public infrastructure bonds and local special taxes.

Upon the motion by Arreguin and second by Pierce, the ABAG Legislation Committee recommended ABAG Executive Board support on ACA 1 (Aguilar-Curry): Voter Approval Requirements for Local Tax and Bond Measures. The motion passed by the following vote:

Aye: 8 - Arreguin, Cortese, Haggerty, Hudson, Mitchoff, Pierce, Rabbitt, and Ramos

Abstain: 1 - Eklund

7.b. 19-0125 AB 252 (Daly): Delegation of Federal Environmental Review to Caltrans - Support

Makes permanent Caltrans' authority to assume responsibility for National Environmental Protection Act review.

Upon the motion by Rabbitt and second by Eklund, the ABAG Legislation Committee recommended ABAG Executive Board support on AB 262: Delegation of Federal Environmental Review to Caltrans. The motion passed unanimously by the following vote:

Aye: 9 - Arreguin, Cortese, Eklund, Haggerty, Hudson, Mitchoff, Pierce, Rabbitt, and Ramos

7.c. 19-0126 SB 137 (Dodd): Federal Transportation Funds: State Exchange ProgramsSupport and Seek Amendments

Expands federal funding exchange program to allow all parts of the state the option to exchange federal funds for new state funds to accelerate project delivery.

Upon the motion by Mitchoff and second by Pierce, the ABAG Legislation Committee recommended ABAG Executive Board support and seek amendments on SB 137 (Dodd): Federal Transportation Funds: Sate Exchange Programs. The motion passed unanimously by the following vote:

Aye: 9 - Arreguin, Cortese, Eklund, Haggerty, Hudson, Mitchoff, Pierce, Rabbitt, and Ramos

7.d. 19-0127 CASA Local Outreach and Legislative Update

Update on meetings held with local elected officials regarding the CASA Compact, proposal for keeping all stakeholders updated during legislative discussions, and the latest developments in Sacramento.

The ABAG Legislation Committee and MTC Legislation Committee received the report.

8. Federal Legislation

8.a. 19-0103 Tom Bugler's Report - Report from Washington D.C., Advocate

The ABAG Legislation Committee and MTC Legislation Committee received the report.

9. Public Comment / Other Business

There were no public comments.

10. Adjournment / Other Business

Chair Haggerty adjourned the meeting at about 12:11 p.m.