

375 Beale Street Suite 700 San Francisco, California 94105

Meeting Minutes - Final

ABAG Legislation Committee

	Chair, Scott Haggerty, Supervisor, County of Alameda Vice Chair, Julie Pierce, Councilmember, City of Clayton	
Thursday, January 17, 2019	5:00 PM	Board Room - 1st Floor

Association of Bay Area Governments Legislation Committee

The ABAG Legislation Committee may act on any item on the agenda. The meeting is scheduled to begin at 5:00 p.m. Agenda, roster, and webcast available at http://abag.ca.gov/meetings. For information, contact Clerk of the Board at (415) 820-7913.

Legislation Committee Roster Scott Haggerty, Supervisor, County of Alameda—Chair Julie Pierce, Councilmember, City of Clayton—Vice Chair David Cortese, Supervisor, County of Santa Clara Pat Eklund, Councilmember, City of Novato Dave Hudson, Councilmember, City of San Ramon Karen Mitchoff, Supervisor, County of Sonoma David Rabbitt, Supervisor, County of Sonoma Belia Ramos, Supervisor, County of Napa

1. Call to Order / Pledge of Allegiance / Roll Call / Confirm Quorum

Chair Haggerty called the meeting to order at about 5:07 p.m. Quorum was present. **Present:** 8 - Cortese, Eklund, Haggerty, Hudson, Mitchoff, Pierce, Rabbitt, and Ramos

2. Compensation Announcement

The Clerk of the Board gave the compensation announcement.

3. Public Comment

There was no public comment.

4. Committee Announcements

There were no committee member announcements.

5. Election of Legislation Committee Chair and Vice Chair

Chair Haggerty opened the floor for nominations for Committee Chair and Vice Chair. Pierce nominated and Mitchoff seconded Haggerty for Committee Chair and Pierce as Committee Vice Chair. There were no other nominations. Nominations for Committee Chair and Vice Chair was closed. Haggerty was elected Committee Chair and Pierce as Committee Vice Chair unanimously by the following vote: Eklund, Haggerty, Hudson, Mitchoff, Pierce, Rabbitt, Ramos.

<u>19-0041</u> Election of Legislation Committee Chair and Vice Chair

6. Consent Calendar

Upon the motion by Pierce and second by Rabbitt, the Consent Calendar was approved. The motion passed unanimously by the following vote:

- Aye: 7 Eklund, Haggerty, Hudson, Mitchoff, Pierce, Rabbitt, and Ramos
- Absent: 1 Cortese
- **6.a.** <u>18-1139</u> Approval of Legislation Committee Minutes of Meeting on November 9, 2018

7. Adoption of 2019 Advocacy Program

Cortese joined the meeting at about 5:07 p.m.

Upon the motion by Mitchoff and second by Pierce, the 2019 Advocacy Program was approved with the following amendments: (1) if ABAG does not authorize the President to sign the CASA Compact, then remove State Goal 1.a.; and (2) include split roll under addressing fiscalization of land use under State Goal 1.b. The motion passed unanimoulsy by the following vote:

Aye: 8 - Cortese, Eklund, Haggerty, Hudson, Mitchoff, Pierce, Rabbitt, and Ramos

<u>18-1140</u> Adoption of 2019 Advocacy Program

8. Adjournment / Next Meeting

Chair Haggerty adjourned the meeting at about 5:20 p.m.

The next special meeting of the ABAG Legislation Committee is on Februrary 8, 2019.