375 Beale Street  
Suite 700  
San Francisco, California  
Meeting Agenda - Final  
ABAG POWER Executive Committee  
Chair, Vacant  
Vice Chair, Doug Williams, City of Santa Rosa  
Thursday, April 20, 2023  
11:00 AM  
Tamalpais CR 7102 - 7th Floor (HYBRID)  
ABAG Publicly Owned Energy Resources  
Executive Committee  
Meeting No. 2023-02  
Committee Representative Roster:  
Andre Duurvoort, City of Cupertino  
Diana Oyler, County of Contra Costa  
Doug Williams, City of Santa Rosa  
Join by Telephone: 888-788-0099 or 877-853-5247 (both toll free)  
Webinar ID: 898 9346 2655  
Members of the public may participate or may submit comments by email at  
info@bayareametro.gov by 5:00 p.m. the day before the scheduled meeting date. Please  
include the committee or board meeting name and agenda item number in the subject line.  
Due to the current circumstances, there may be limited opportunity to address comments  
during the meeting. All comments received will be submitted into the record.  
1. Welcome and Introductions  
Call to order.  
Doug Williams, ABAG POWER Executive Committee Vice Chair, City of Santa Rosa  
Roll Call / Confirm Quorum.  
Cindy Chen, Energy Programs Coordinator, ABAG/MTC  
2. Public Comment  
The public is encouraged to provide comment at Committee meetings. This public comment period  
is intended for items not agendized.  
3. Consent Calendar  
Approval of Minutes from February 16, 2023 Executive Committee Special  
Ryan Jacoby, Program Manager, ABAG/MTC  
4. Energy Section Director's Report  
Staff will provide a report of recent energy industry developments and  
programmatic updates regarding the Bay Area Regional Energy Network  
Jennifer Berg, Director, Energy Section, ABAG/MTC  
5. Appointment of Members to Serve on the Executive Committee for Calendar Year  
Vice Chair Doug Williams to appoint Becky Hopkins, City of Pleasanton, to  
the ABAG POWER Executive Committee.  
Doug Williams, City of Santa Rosa  
6. Request for Offers for Senate Bill 1383-compliant Renewable Natural Gas  
Staff will provide a verbal report of actions taken to establish a SB  
1383-compliant renewable natural gas program.  
Ryan Jacoby, Program Manager, ABAG/MTC  
7. Quantification of Carbon Emissions  
Staff and GPT, Inc. will present a methodology decision matrix and  
recommend approval of a framework to calculate carbon  
dioxide-equivalent (CO2e) emissions, resulting in a emissions of 59,948  
mt CO2e for fiscal year 2021-22.  
Ryan Jacoby, Program Manager, ABAG/MTC  
Marc Estrada, GPT, Inc.  
8. Report on Natural Gas Program  
Staff will review recent gas operations, including gas purchases; the  
program’s long-term hedge position; gas imbalances; regulatory updates;  
and other miscellaneous program items.  
Ryan Jacoby, Program Manager, ABAG/MTC  
9. Preliminary Fiscal Year 2023-24 Operating Budget  
Staff will present a preliminary operating budget for fiscal year (FY)  
2023-24 and request feedback from the Executive Committee before a  
final budget is presented for approval at the June 15, 2023 Executive  
Committee meeting.  
Arleicka Conley, Section Director, Budgets and Financial Planning and  
Analysis, ABAG/MTC  
10. Other Business  
Committee to provide update on items within member agencies relevant to ABAG POWER and/or  
the ABAG/MTC energy programs.  
11. Adjournment / Next Meeting  
The next meeting is the ABAG POWER Executive Committee Meeting scheduled to be held on  
June 15, 2023.  
Public Comment: The public is encouraged to comment on agenda items at Committee meetings  
by completing a request-to-speak card (available from staff) and passing it to the Committee secretary.  
Public comment may be limited by any of the procedures set forth in Section 3.09 of MTC's Procedures  
Manual (Resolution No. 1058, Revised) if, in the chair's judgment, it is necessary to maintain the orderly  
flow of business.  
Meeting Conduct: If this meeting is willfully interrupted or disrupted by one or more persons  
rendering orderly conduct of the meeting unfeasible, the Chair may order the removal of individuals who  
are willfully disrupting the meeting. Such individuals may be arrested. If order cannot be restored by  
such removal, the members of the Committee may direct that the meeting room be cleared (except for  
representatives of the press or other news media not participating in the disturbance), and the session  
may continue.  
Record of Meeting: Committee meetings are recorded. Copies of recordings are available at a  
nominal charge, or recordings may be listened to at MTC offices by appointment. Audiocasts are  
maintained on MTC's Web site (mtc.ca.gov) for public review for at least one year.  
Accessibility and Title VI: MTC provides services/accommodations upon request to persons with  
disabilities and individuals who are limited-English proficient who wish to address Commission matters.  
For accommodations or translations assistance, please call 415.778.6757 or 415.778.6769 for  
TDD/TTY. We require three working days' notice to accommodate your request.  
Acceso y el Titulo VI: La MTC puede proveer asistencia/facilitar la comunicación a las personas  
discapacitadas y los individuos con conocimiento limitado del inglés quienes quieran dirigirse a la  
Comisión. Para solicitar asistencia, por favor llame al número 415.778.6757 o al 415.778.6769 para  
TDD/TTY. Requerimos que solicite asistencia con tres días hábiles de anticipación para poderle  
proveer asistencia.  
Attachments are sent to Committee members, key staff and others as appropriate. Copies will be  
available at the meeting.  
All items on the agenda are subject to action and/or change by the Committee. Actions recommended  
by staff are subject to change by the Committee.