Regional Committees and Interagency Projects

San Francisco Bay Conservation and Development Commission

San Francisco Bay Conservation and Development Commission's Strategic Plan reflects the agency's two primary responsibilities: to protect and enhance San Francisco Bay and to encourage the Bay's responsible and productive use for this and future generations.

The Commission is made up of 27 members. ABAG appoints four elected officials representing the north, east, south, and west Bay Area municipalities.

Full BCDC roster:

Bay Area Council Economic Institute

The Bay Area Council Economic Institute provides a forum for high-level regional leaders to examine and take action on economic issues impacting the entire Bay Area. Through the strength of its Board of Directors, The Institute targets economic issues of regional importance and takes the lead in forming partnerships and working relationships with relevant groups in the region to cooperatively achieve the desired objectives.

The Institute is made up of thirty-nine leaders from business, government, academia, and labor and civic organizations in the nine-county Bay Area. One-third appointed by Association of Bay Area Governments.

Full Board of Trustees page:

San Francisco Estuary Partnership

San Francisco Estuary Partnership (SFEP), is a cooperative program designed to promote effective management of the San Francisco Bay-Delta estuary and to restore and maintain its water quality and natural resources by collecting and analyzing information about the Estuary and the causes of its problems; implementation of the Comprehensive Conservation and Management Plan (CCMP), adopted in 1993, to restore and maintain the Estuary; the Plan recommends corrective action plans, management strategies, monitoring programs, legislation and regulations research, and continuing public outreach and involvement programs on the state of the Estuary.

ABAG appoints participants who represent diverse environmental, social, and economic interests. They serve on one or more of the Project's committees. The Executive Council is responsible for the overall policy direction of the Project. The Implementation Committee promotes and helps facilitate actions to achieve goals of the Plan. It evaluates Project products, and advises and makes recommendations to the Executive Council. The "Friends of the San Francisco Bay Estuary" is a nonprofit established to continue the wide public outreach program and help raise funds for activities that meet the goals of the Plan.

ABAG selects appointees to the Implementation Committee.

Executive Council page:

Metropolitan Transportation Commission

Created by the state legislature, the Metropolitan Transportation Commission (MTC) is the transportation planning, coordinating and financing agency for the nine-county San Francisco Bay Area. The agency's scope has grown, and it is now three agencies in one, functioning as MTC as well as the Bay Area Toll Authority (BATA) and the Service Authority for Freeways and Expressways (SAFE). MTC functions as both the regional transportation planning agency — a state designation — and, for federal purposes, as the region's metropolitan transportation planning organization (MPO).

ABAG appoints a number of Commissioners to MTC. Two voting members represent regional planning agencies, the Association of Bay Area Governments and the Bay Conservation and Development Commission (BCDC).

Full list of MTC Commissioners: