Bay Area Hazardous Waste Committee

This website is a working website for the Bay Area Hazardous Waste Facility Allocation Committee. In addition to archiving committee materials, the site also provides links to current legislation and issues of interest to members.

The Bay Area Hazardous Waste Management Facility Allocation Committee was established under a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) in 1990 following the passage of AB 2948 (Tanner). The legislation, which assumed that hazardous wastes would increase statewide with a commensurate demand for additional treatment facilities, required that local governments plan to meet this demand locally. The committee sought to develop and implement a regional approach for siting hazardous waste treatment facilities. The MOU required that each county be represented by two locally elected officials, one to represent the county and one to represent the cities within the county. The MOU was subsequently revised to permit jurisdictions to appoint staff to the Committee. The Committee is served by a Technical Advisory Committee, whose members include senior staff from each county. A number of TAC members have been appointed to serve as voting alternates to their jurisdictions' Committee member. (Download Current Committee and TAC members.)

In 1993/94, the nine Bay Area counties approved an Inter-Jurisdictional Agreement establishing a Fair Share Capacity Allocation Formula (Formula) and initial county hazardous waste facility allocations. The capacity plan assigned responsibility for planning to fill the regional capacity deficit among the counties based upon their relative contributions to that deficit.

The Committee also oversees the Bay Area Green Business Program, which assists and recognizes small to medium-sized businesses who voluntarily implement measures to prevent pollution, conserve resources, and reduce solid and hazardous waste.

Staff contacts:

JoAnna Bullock, Senior Regional Planner
(415) 820-7968

Adrien Baudrimont, Environmental Specialist
(510) 622-2337