

Meeting Minutes - Final

Bay Area Metro Center 375 Beale Street Suite 700 San Francisco, California

ABAG Housing Methodology Committee

Chair, Jesse Arreguin, Mayor, City of Berkeley

Thursday, August 13, 2020 10:00 AM Remote

Association of Bay Area Governments Housing Methodology Committee

The ABAG Housing Methodology Committee may act on any item on the agenda.

The meeting is scheduled to begin at 10:00 a.m.

Agenda and roster available at https://abag.ca.gov

For information, contact Clerk of the Board at (415) 820-7913.

Roster

Susan Adams, Anita Addison, Jesse Arreguin, Rupinder Bolaria, Rick Bonilla, Michael Brilliot, Monica Brown, Amanda Brown-Stevens, Paul Campos, Ellen Clark, Diane Dillon, Forrest Ebbs, Pat Eklund, Jonathan Fearn, Victoria Fierce, Neysa Fligor, Mindy Gentry, Russell Hancock, Welton Jordan, Brandon Kline, Jeffrey Levin, Scott Littlehale, Tawny Macedo, Fernando Marti, Rodney Nickens, Jr., James Pappas, Julie Pierce, Bob Planthold, Darin Ranelletti, Matt Regan, Jane Riley, Carlos Romero, Nell Selander, Elise Semonian, Aarti Shrivastava, Vin Smith, Matt Walsh

1. Call to Order / Roll Call / Confirm Quorum

Chair Arreguin called the meeting to order at about 10:03 a.m. Quorum was present.

Present: 34 - Adams, Addison, Arreguin, Bolaria-Shifrin, Bonilla, Brilliot, Brown, Brown-Stevens, Campos, Clark, Dillon, Ebbs, Eklund, Fierce, Fligor, Gentry, Jordan, Levin, Littlehale, Macedo, Marti, Nickens, Pappas, Pierce, Planthold, Ranelletti, Regan, Riley, Romero, Selander, Semonian, Shrivastava, Smith, and Walsh

Absent: 3 - Fearn, Hancock, and Kline

2.a. 20-1250 ABAG Housing Methodology Committee Public Comment for August 13, 2020

3. Chair's Report

2. Public Comment

Page 1 Printed on 9/2/2020

3.a. 20-1144 ABAG Housing Methodology Committee Chair's Report of August 13, 2020

Chair Arreguin gave the report.

The following gave public comment: Noah Housh, Diana Elrod, Anna Driscoll, Shajuti Hossain, Avalon Schultz.

4. Consent Calendar

Upon the motion by Pierce and second by Brown, the Consent Calendar was approved. The motion passed unanimously by the following vote:

Aye: 29 - Addison, Arreguin, Bonilla, Brilliot, Brown, Brown-Stevens, Clark, Dillon, Ebbs, Eklund, Fierce, Fligor, Gentry, Jordan, Levin, Littlehale, Macedo, Marti, Nickens, Pappas, Pierce, Planthold, Ranelletti, Regan, Riley, Semonian, Shrivastava, Smith, and Walsh

Absent: 5 - Bolaria-Shifrin, Fearn, Hancock, Kline, and Romero

Abstain: 3 - Adams, Campos, and Selander

4.a. 20-1146 Approval of ABAG Housing Methodology Committee Minutes of July 9, 2020

5. RHNA Methodology Concepts

5.a. 20-1147 Refining RHNA Methodology Concepts

Presentation of analysis to answer the HMC's questions about the RHNA methodology's potential baseline allocation, income allocation approach, and factors/weights. The HMC will discuss their preferences and possible recommendations for methodology components.

Gillian Adams gave the report.

The following gave public comment: Aaron Eckhouse.

The following submitted public comment: Larry Klein, Cities Association of Santa Clara County; Stephen Levy; Gail Price; Gabriel Quinto, Contra Costa County Mayors Conference; Ed Shikada, City of Palo Alto; David Sykes; City of San Jose.

6. Adjournment / Next Meeting

Chair Arreguin adjourned the meeting at about 1:46 p.m. The next special meeting of the ABAG Housing Methodology Committee is on August 28, 2020.